1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Will Prime drive even if lithium battery is dead?

Discussion in 'Prime Main Forum (2017-2022)' started by MagnetoBlue, Jun 5, 2018.

1. MagnetoBlue

MagnetoBlue Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Premium
    Hey guys, I’m new to Hybrids and I was curious about the lithium battery pack for the plug-in Prius Prime. From my understanding, when the lithium battery is fully drained, the gas kicks in and runs the car using gas. But what would happen if the lithium battery is completely dead? Can the Prius Prime drive on just the gas as a regular Prius Hybrid?

2. Llamaguy

Llamaguy New Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    The car won't let the batteries go completely dead like an EV does. The car treats the Prime battery as a separate level on top of the standard Prius battery. Short of an actual malfunction the car will turn into a slightly heavier regular Prius after 20-30 miles.

3. fotomoto

fotomoto Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Nope. The HV battery crank starts the gasoline engine.

Now OTOH, it's possible that it may drive fine in EV only mode till the battery is drained if, say, the gas engine had an issue like if it's out of gas. People have done that in emergency situations even in non-plug-in hybrids. TIP: don't attempt this unless it truly is a dangerous situation as the battery can really be damaged if discharged too low.

4. David Beale

David Beale Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    No. The engine won't "crank over" without some charge in the "traction battery" (the lithium one). Even if you could somehow start the engine the car wouldn't move until there was some charge in the battery. BTW, I don't think you could start the engine, as you can't "push start" it - the system won't transmit power without the MGs energized (by the traction battery).