1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Window Fog and MPG

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Fuel Economy' started by Threej, Jan 25, 2018.

1. Threej

Threej Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hey everyone. Prius Noob here (2010 II), so take it easy on me :).

I understand that in order to maximize my MPG, I want my heater/ac off. However, that's not feasible because after about 1 minute, my windows get all fogged up.

I try to do a kind of pulse-and-glide where I AC until my windows are defogged, and then turn it off, but then I forget the AC is on, or I'm constantly turning it on and off every single minute.

Complicating things are the Heater has basically 4 modes of operation:
    1. Off. 2. Heater on. 3. Heater on with AC. 4. Front Defrost.
    Each jump up the chain eats about 5% more mpg, but defogs faster so it has to run shorter.

I figured I'd consult the experts-- are there any best practices out there to maximize MPG while maintaining window visiblity?

Thanks.

2. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Some days, with heavy rain, there's no way out: AC is the only way to stay safe. Other days you can dodge it.

If you've been running AC and then switch it off, you WILL get a humidity dump. If you manage to get through it it'll involve having both front windows cracked, mode in heat/defog and moderate to higher fan speed.

It can take up to 10 minutes to stabilize. It's somewhat akin to withdrawal from an addictive drug. Again, don't push TOO hard: if it's heavy rain and badly fogging, might be best to leave it to another day.

One thing, try to shut AC off about a mile before your destination, give the humidity a chance to dissipate.

3. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A