1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Winter prep?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by lunatuna, Oct 1, 2006.

1. lunatuna

lunatuna New Member

autumn is nice but soon it'll be winter! this will be my first winter with my Prius (also my first car). I plan on trying out the things listed in this article
    (Autopia) to prep my car for winter.

However, is there anything special that I should also do for my Prius?

2. Michgal007

Michgal007 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I would like to know about this as well. It has already been to 30's (F) here in Ann Arbor. :blink:

3. eagle33199

eagle33199 Platinum Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    Hoestly, while salt can lead to rust and problems, odds are you won't have to worry about them. I've never done anything special to a car before winter and they've all held up just fine. My previous car was a '97 Sunfire, and it ran like it did the day i got it (used). And on top of that, most of it's life was spent in Cleveland, which loves its salt more than any city i've seen (it helps perhaps that we mine it all from lake erie).

Many of the other problems they post are something to keep in mind, definately, but i wouldn't go so far as to actually go out of my way to check anything.

He says check the windshield wipers... well duh, you'll know if they're going bad (and IMO it's better to replace them in the spring than winter, as they get torn up the most during the winter).

Washing fluid booster? whats that? It's nice to have some antifreeze stuff in the fluid to help melt the ice, but this booster "to deal with salt" sounds like a gimick to me...