1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Winter Tires for a Canadian 2012 Prius

Discussion in 'Knowledge Base Articles Discussion' started by Yannick, Sep 30, 2012.

1. Yannick

Yannick Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm relatively uninformed about cars, but I am an aerospace engineer who just went overboard on research for winter tires and wheels for my 2012 Prius. All this information is available out there in pieces, but I figured I might save others some work by summing it all up in one place. My goal was to sort out the marketing hype and misinformation from the things that truly improve winter safety, fuel efficiency, and cost efficiency, and try to trace everything back to solid engineering principles. I never race my car and have no intention of making it look like I do, so a lot of the “performance” recommendations I found were of no relevance to me.

THE QUICK ANSWER
    If you're a busy person who doesn't want to worry about the details, just get a dealer package: Ask for four Michelin X-Ice tires on 15” Corolla steel rims with TPMS and nitrogen fill. That comes to $1285 plus tax minus a $70 rebate, and they'll take care of you with free bolting and TPMS registration in future years. You might save about $200 over the life of your car if you're a do-it-yourselfer willing to read up and buy some tools, but then you shouldn't be looking for quick answers.

WHY THE FUSS?