1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Worth Cosmetic Fixes Before Selling?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Pilar311, May 17, 2023.

1. Pilar311

Pilar311 New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Hi all, I'm not too experienced with owning and selling cars, so I have a basic question. We want to sell our 2009 Prius. It's in decent driving condition and 166,000 miles, but it has a dented door and some big scratches on two doors. The dent is cosmetic but still pretty big. Is something like this worth fixing before selling? We're based in Los Angeles, if that makes any difference.

bisco likes this.
  2. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Possibly . I think the car markets about to get really weirder. People paying $8,000 for 15-year-old prii is coming to something . but folks are pretty silly . Body work is costly paint n all that . Someone looking at a car that old is either very smart or very silly You have to determine which or what have you The smart person's not going to really worry about the door dent and or the two scratches He's laughing all the way to wherever with a decent price on the car and it driving decently You're 08 09 If it's not already had it it's going to be coming up on a break actuator pump accumulator situation soon wheel bearings need to be thought about hybrid battery somebody that's in the know should be thinking about. Coolant valves including the inverter pump and things like that. All add up very quickly when you're paying businesses to do this so every bit you can do yourself is savings out of one's pocket. But it's easy to get deep into these vehicles and you don't want to do that if you're trying to sell It's not like fixing up and flipping a house it's a little different can't really get a mortgage on a car thank God.

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in