1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Would this set up be ok to charge?

Discussion in 'Prime Main Forum (2017-2022)' started by PriusMannn, Feb 7, 2018.

1. PriusMannn

PriusMannn New Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Hey guys! I recently bought a Prius Prime and I am loving the car! The mileage is unbelievable! I currently live in an apartment complex so charging the prime is a little difficult! I did some research and decided to buy an extension cord to charge my prime. I bought a 10/3 extension cord (
    ) to be on the safe side since it would be left unattended. I found an outlet that I can plug, however, it is outside and also, there’s a Coke vending machine using one of the outlet. Would this still be ok? I provide the pictures of what the outlet looks like since I am a noob when it comes to these things! Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. geguia

geguia Active Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
  3. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    "Most soda vending machines run on 115 volts at about 10.5 amps. Most commercial grade three prong outlets will be acceptable to power a vending machine." Frequently Asked Questions | Vending Solutions

Since it is most likely a 15 Amp Breaker, this will not leave you enough power to charge with. Too bad too, that was a nice looking Receptacle.

4. PriusMannn

PriusMannn New Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    So it is safe but just not enough power to charge. Would it make a difference if I changed the charge to 8A?

5. bwilson4web

bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    There are 20A 120VAC circuits but those have a small, horizontal slot on one leg.

I would first negotiate with the landlord to coordinate testing.

Bob Wilson

6. Mark McIntyre