1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Wow, you guys are good. Can I ask another?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by TorontoSusan, Nov 17, 2005.

1. TorontoSusan

TorontoSusan New Member

Thanks for answering my ICE question so darn fast! You've given me confidence, I'm gonna try another or two. (I've only had my car for 30 days, so I'm a newbie)

I was searching the site cause I was getting 99.9 in my mileage and I wanted to know if others experienced this. I found the thead: apparently I'm not alone. Why does this happen? What does it mean? Does it mess up my milage calculator?

And now that the colder weather is here (damn near freezing), I notice my ICE (heh, heh) is on more than it used to.. Even turning the fan off, the engine kicks in more than it used to and the mileage takes my breath away. It takes me about 10 miles or so before it goes back to 'normal'. I take it this is due to the colder weather and heating the engine?

2. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Actually, when it shows 99.9mpg that's just a default number for any mpg above 99.8mpg....you may actually be getting infinite MGP at that moment!! Remember, if you're moving, but your ICE is off (and you should know that feeling), or even if you're running at ICE at idle your instantaneous mpg will be infinity. But that would cause a serious calculation error. So the computer just uses 99.9.

Don't get too hung up, right now, on that instantaneous readout. You'll do better by watching your trends on the consumption screen with those 5 minute bars to tell you how you've been doing.