Wrong Cabin Air Filter?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by romad, Nov 21, 2019.

1. romad

romad 2004 Prīus Package 6 Owner

Oroville, California People's Repub./Prescott, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    The cabin air filter I've been using for 15 years is part # 87139-47010-83. However, the latest part number I was given for my 2004 Prius is 87139-YZZ19. While it fits, it isn't as well made as the previous part number. Did Toyota cheapen the product, or was I sold the wrong filter? Any suggested aftermarket cabin air filter as a replacement for OEM?

2. egg_salad

egg_salad Active Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I can't answer your questions about part numbers, sorry. But that's because I don't consider the CAF to be a hyper-critical part. Then again, I don't have asthma, allergies, or any other respiratory problems. I buy the cheapest CAF I can find and change it every 6 months. Last time I bought 3 of the TYC brand from Amazon. They cost a mere $3.20. They seem to do the job just fine.

3. Elektroingenieur

Elektroingenieur Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    Toyota’s application chart (PDF) shows that part number 87139-YZZ19 is valid for 2001–2009 Prius cars, but the “YZZ” means it’s locally sourced as a substitute, presumably to be sold at a competitive price. See footnote 8: “Warranty Part Number: Please use 87139-47010-83 (Pollen).” In other words, if a dealer has to replace the filter as part of a warranty repair, they are required to use the original part.

4. romad

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A