XM NavTraffic Suddenly Working - Promo?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Tideland Prius, May 11, 2018.

  1. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    37,197
    8,372
    40
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I noticed that traffic flow and incident information started showing up on my nav display this afternoon (2010 Prius w/ 7" LCD Denso navigation unit). I'm guessing it's a free promo?

    It shows traffic within 2-3km in the 50m or 100m scale but further up to 10-15km, you'll have to use the 400m scale.

    I guess I could check SAT and see if I can listen to the channels. They usually do free promos every once in a while but it's usually just the audio part.
     
    grid likes this.
  2. KK6PD

    KK6PD _ . _ . / _ _ . _

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    3,970
    890
    116
    Location:
    Los Angeles Foothills
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I have the traffic info only, $65 for the year! In Los Angeles it's essential on the freeways. On my Niro display it's quite visible and easy to decipher, just don't stare a it for long periods at 70mph.....
     
  3. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    10,637
    4,368
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Maybe they crossed your account with mine, which I un-suspended yesterday after its winter hibernation. I don't actually hibernate the car, just the XM. I use XM mostly on trips away from home, and the main winter destination needs the Subaru AWD, so the Prius stays home for the season.
     
  4. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    37,197
    8,372
    40
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Well last time I checked (2014), it was unavailable so I couldn't even subscribe to it if I wanted to. I just resigned to the fact that it became obsolete when Toyota switched to HD Traffic information on the 2014 headunits. (the one on the Corolla, 4Runner, Tacoma, Gen 4 Prius etc).
     
  5. grid

    grid Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    526
    395
    2
    Location:
    North America
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I'll
    Check mine tomorrow to see if I lucked also. The xm radio subscription ended after 3 months buying my Prius from Carmax so maybe trial ended. It was "preowned" vehicle.
     
    Tideland Prius likes this.
  6. grid

    grid Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    526
    395
    2
    Location:
    North America
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Verified that XM NAV Trafffic is also online in my prius also, along with gas and weather live updates. Nice catch (y) Did this right before I LEFT THE CAR IDLE IN THE GROCERY PARKING LOT WHILE I SHOPPED INSIDE WITH PARKING BRAKES ENGAGE which doesn't waste gas whenever I preplan to not spend 10 mins or more inside stores.

    Toyota probably visit this forum and threw a freebie because I'm diverting people from Toyota to Honda hybrids. They need to do more than that to have me buy another Toyota because the ship has sailed.
     
    #6 grid, May 13, 2018
    Last edited: May 13, 2018
    Tideland Prius likes this.
  7. El Dobro

    El Dobro A Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    5,519
    2,108
    1
    Location:
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    2014 Chevy Volt
    It's promo time.
     
    Tideland Prius likes this.
  8. Diemaster

    Diemaster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    103
    86
    1
    Location:
    so. cal
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    wait...so you dont need XM to get the traffic info just HD radio? traffic is the only reason i haven't terminated my XM account yet.
     
  9. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    37,197
    8,372
    40
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It depends on vehicle. On the 2010-2011, traffic info is through XMNavTraffic.

    For 2012-2015, 6.1" Display Audio units got it through HD Radio, 7" Display Audio units got it through XMNavTraffic.

    For 2016+ (including the Prime), it's done through HD Radio (with an Entune subscription - I know because our 2016 in Canada has HD radio but no traffic information because Entune 2.0 isn't available in Canada).
     
  10. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    10,637
    4,368
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I just rechecked on my 2012-Three with 6.1" Display Audio. It has HD Radio, and I was reactivating/refreshing the regular XM (not traffic) after winter hibernation. But looking for the temporary Traffic freebie, the car kept demanding an Internet connection over Bluetoooth, (i.e. Entune?), something I won't give it.
     
  11. Nutmac

    Nutmac Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    14
    1
    0
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Is it confirmed to be a limited time promo? If so, until when?

    $3.99/month for SiriusXM NavTraffic is beyond ridiculous in 2018. It's far more outdated than Waze, Google, or even Apple Maps. $9.99/year is probably the most I would pay.
     
  12. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    37,197
    8,372
    40
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It was Cdn$14/month when I had it o_O. Which is why I only had it for one year. (and coincidentally, XM claimed they stopped support the year my subscription ended anyway). I guess when you have a population smaller than California, you don't have the purchasing power like the US.
     
  13. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    10,637
    4,368
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Plus, the poorer satellite reception of your high-latitude geography probably creates a much higher rate of customer complaints.
     
  14. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    37,197
    8,372
    40
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Maybe. But it's flat so there's little interference (except downtown of course). Keep in mind that a good chunk of the Canadian population is south of the 49th parallel.
     
  15. Roland1555

    Roland1555 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    279
    64
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Noticed that it appears to be working in my 2010 as well.

    I say appears as I've yet to be alerted of an incident or have it offer to re-route around heavy traffic. Like Tideland, they told me that my JBL unit was no longer supported, but I knew better, but their pricing structure led to a more sensible dash mount for my iPhone to use either Apple or Google maps to fill in for missing traffic information.

    The music isn't working, but no matter as I;ve come to prefer bluetooth streaming from my my device of my library or any number of streaming apps including Spotify and Amazon etc.
     
    Tideland Prius likes this.
  16. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    37,197
    8,372
    40
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Mine did but by the time I got there, it was green (even though the remnants of the volume was there but it was flowing enough that it wasn't a concern). It did alert me on the way back to the same area of construction and slower moving traffic. The incident reports seem odd but traffic flow is ok.
     
  17. El Dobro

    El Dobro A Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    5,519
    2,108
    1
    Location:
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    2014 Chevy Volt
    I first noticed it working on the Volt when weather alerts were popping up, so I hit the home button on the nav, but there were no alerts on my route. When I selected traffic alerts in the area, they all came up.
     
  18. hotelprisoner

    hotelprisoner Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    11
    5
    0
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    It’s also working in my 2010 Tech (Canada) but it keeps telling me that the 401 is closed and trying to divert me onto side roads when there is no actual closure. Not a usable product.
     
  19. AzWxGuy

    AzWxGuy Weather Guy

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    567
    180
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I have the red and green roadways of NAV Traffic illuminated also, though I don't know when that happened. Might be free through May 29 according to this. I remember a couple of these promotions, but this is the first time I've seen the traffic info for free without signing up for something.
     
  20. El Dobro

    El Dobro A Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    5,519
    2,108
    1
    Location:
    NJ
    Vehicle:
    2014 Chevy Volt
    They've had the free traffic before. I think I've already had it at least three times, that I've noticed.
     
Loading...