1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Yet another automatic headlights question...

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by Ank, Jan 14, 2015.

1. Ank

Ank Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hi Folks, newbie here. I read through the long automatic headlights thread with a lot of interest but maybe I missed something, or maybe I just didn't quite get it, so at the risk of boring you all to death, here's my question. (I did find answers to pieces of these questions but I couldn't tell if all of the following requirements would work together)

I have a 2011 Prius Four with Solar Package (US) manufactured in March 2011.

1) Is it possible to Convert to a headlight stalk that supports Auto, DRL and Fog from Canada? From the thread the answer seems to be yes, but wanted to confirm

2) If the previous answer is yes, is it possible to add separate DRLs and Fog lights to the car? Or will the headlights work at low power as DRL? Or what is the preferred approach?

3) And is it possible to make them work in conjunction? Basically, the light sensor controls the headlights and DRL in Auto mode such that in the daytime, Headlights are off, DRL on and vice versa at night (or dimming the headlights in the daytime to act as DRLs). Additionally, turning the foglight on turns the headlights on as well by default. Is there another preferred mode of operating/interaction between these three lights/modes?

4) Is it possible to ensure that following those mods, the green headlight indicator light on the dash turns on whenever the headlight is on - whether manually or automatically?

5) Is it also possible to wire it such that whenever the wipers are on any continual operating mode, headlights automatically turn on?

Addendum: I would also like to change out the horns - should that be done at the same time, or is that basically a completely different job?