1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

2005 Red Triangle, P3000...

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by thebloop, May 8, 2020.

1. thebloop

thebloop Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Greetings!

Looking for help troubleshooting my 2005, 140K miles, I am the original owner. Car has been spending the spring sheltering in place, with only weekly trips around the neighborhood for exercise.
    I am not a great mechanic, or any kind of engineer, but I can generally work on cars and at least do no harm.
    The weather got hot, and The Bloop went all red triangle/warning light christmas tree.

I had this happen before (2018) due to hot weather, neglect, and a low 12v battery. This time 12V measures low, fresh charge in the 12V (to a steady 12.6V and a passing grade on a load test) changes nothing.

I obtain a Veepeak OBDII reader and the Dr Prius App. I am expecting to see that the battery is toast.
    Shows P3000 code only. Battery Control Unit
    Dr Prius shows the battery modules are all in the 7.6v neighborhood, except for #4 which is low, but module #1 alternates between positive and negative voltage every few seconds. This was an unexpected result. I shut it all down, disconnect the 12V and go inside to do more research.

I hone in on the cause of the crazy readings as the voltage sensing circuits and/or the battery ECU connector. As in here: p3000 p3030 | PriusChat
    I dig into the back of the car, and checked the voltage sensing plug at the Battery ECU, look inside the Battery ECU, there is no evidence of arcing or corrosion of any kind. The orange connector is apparently not the culprit. Pin 22 is seemingly innocent.

My thinking on the next step is: Remove the rest of the cover and check the voltage sensing wires where they connect to the modules, particularly at module 1 (the furthest from the Battery ECU, passenger side).