2022 Prius prime limited full throttle during lane change experienced.

Discussion in 'Prime Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Michael A. Ellis, May 18, 2022.

  1. Michael A. Ellis

    Michael A. Ellis New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2022
    3
    2
    0
    Location:
    Lookout Mtn, Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2022 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Today I was on a road trip in my prime which now has 6000 miles on the clock. I had cruise set around 78-80 mph. Twice during this drive when I was behind slower vehicles when I moved over to the passing lane my vehicle accelerated up full throttle and approached 95mph. I touched the brake to stop the acceleration. This happed to me twice over 250 miles. I contacted Toyota USA customer service. Has anyone else experienced this unusual experience.

    I was in Eco mode.
    Feet flat on the floor.
    Both hands on top of the wheel.
    The adaptive cruise was on.
    Lane guidance system was on.
    I used the blinker when changing lanes.
     
  2. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    43,351
    14,811
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    And what speed was your adaptive cruise set to? If you're adjusting the speed up/down like you were in your old car with cruise control, you're changing the max speed of the adaptive cruise, not the actual travelling speed. Which means, you would've accidentally increased the set speed to 95mph.
     
  3. FuelMiser

    FuelMiser Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    1,055
    745
    0
    Location:
    Monument, CO
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I'd say you had the CC set high and it was just keeping 78-80 because you were behind a vehicle. When you moved into a clear lane, the CC took over and accelerated. Since the CC control switch is by your right knee, maybe you inadvertently pushed it up, causing the set speed to increase?
     
    Diemaster likes this.
  4. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    10,300
    8,202
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    If you did not change the set speed from 78-80 mph, then it should not accelerate faster than that set speed. Bus as @Tideland Prius mentioned if you changed the set point higher... then it would explain what happened.
     
    Michael A. Ellis likes this.
  5. prius16

    prius16 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    281
    147
    1
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2022 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    As others have said, you likely were using radar cruise control, and the target speed was likely set too high.

    If you feel that the car is definitely at fault, then the car is clearly under warranty.
    File a NHSTA complaint.
    Bring the car to a bigger dealership, with a NHSTA complaint pending, the dealership will get the approval from corporate, to pull the "black box" diagnostic logs.
    Note, depending on what the "black box" data shows (e.g. user error), don't be surprised if you get a bill.
    Your choice.
     
    Michael A. Ellis likes this.
  6. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    99,209
    44,953
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    these cars are too complicated for the average person. even steve wozniak couldn't figure out the basic prius cruise control, never mind all this fancy new tech.
     
  7. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Underfoot

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    48,238
    34,458
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Does the car display the speed set on cruise?

    the scenario responders have proposed, about higher set speed taking over, as soon as you pull out to pass, seems very likely. And troublesome: you’ve been behind this guy for a while, and forgot you’re set cruise speed is about 20 mph higher.

    Or maybe tapped up on the cruise, while behind this guy, and nothing much happened.

    All these speeds seem VERY high, btw.
     
  8. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    43,351
    14,811
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes, the set speed is displayed on the MID.
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  9. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    10,300
    8,202
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    It does, but the display is a popup. It does not stay displayed.

    upload_2022-5-19_21-27-40.png
     
    Storm88000 likes this.
  10. dbstoo

    dbstoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    905
    466
    0
    Location:
    Near Silicon Valley
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I had a similar experience. It was my fault. I was on the freeway with DCC set. I pulled off to a city street. It was actually a boulevard, 3 lanes wide in each directions and 45 MPH speed limit. I resumed cruise and was following the car ahead of me. When he changed lanes to the right I changed lanes to the left, and reengaged the cruise. I was well over 55 when I realized that I that my set point was still set to the freeway speed: 65 MPH.
     
  11. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    43,351
    14,811
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Oh that looks different from mine. They changed it for 2020?
     
    Salamander_King likes this.
  12. douglasjre

    douglasjre Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    1,049
    394
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Why were both of your hands on top of the wheel?
     
  13. prius16

    prius16 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    281
    147
    1
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2022 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    I think it may depend on a few things.
    On my 2022 Limited, the target speed will show when I set/update the target speed.

    Fwiw:
    I have LTA (Lane Tracing Assist) on, but sound and visual only (no steering wheel input).
    I have the HUD (Heads Up Display) on and active.
    I have my MID set to mainly display EV percentage.

    When in DRCC (Dynamic radar cruise control) mode (the only cruise mode I use):
    My MID goes to Cruise control display mode.

    On the MID, it will show:
    Actual Speed.
    The target speed will show when I set/update the target speed, and then the target speed will display "sometimes".
    The LTA bars (not sure what they show/do, I don't look)
    Other stuff sometimes? (not sure, I look at the HUD).
    However, I'm 100% sure that the target speed is not always, or even mostly, shown on the MID.
    I would prefer that the target speed was always shown on the MID, or the HUD.

    On the HUD (2022 Limited), it will show:
    Actual Speed.
    The LTA side bars, and the hollow/filled/flashing/color.
    The Target speed, when I set/update the target speed.
    The Road Sign speed limit, after a new speed limit sign is seen.

    Sometimes I see
    :
    Radar is ready (before the cruise is set).
    The distance bars when the DRCC is activated. (I don't think that the distance bars will stayed displayed for the whole time that the DRCC is controlling the speed.)
    The Road Sign Speed limit.
    *The Target speed after some status charge?* (I haven't bothered to determine when it's displayed.)
    (The Target speed seems to be displayed for only a short time. But, that may be because of road signs, LTA, vehicles cutting-in/passing, etc.)


    I'll try to remember to take a GoPro video, next time I drive the Prius.


    Fwiw, on the HUD, I never see the EV power, or EV anything.
    I haven't tried every combination possible (such as LTA off, or various display options).
     
    #13 prius16, May 20, 2022
    Last edited: May 20, 2022
  14. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    10,300
    8,202
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    I don't remember anything different from 2017, 2020, to 2021. I rarely use the DRCC, so I can't remember for sure how it looked in the older models I owned. But from the manual, they all look very similar pop-ups.

    From the 2021 Manual
    upload_2022-5-20_7-16-34.png

    From the 2017 Manual
    upload_2022-5-20_7-20-34.png
     
  15. FuelMiser

    FuelMiser Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    1,055
    745
    0
    Location:
    Monument, CO
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    You can keep the CC Display on the MID by cycling through the Right Hand Steering Wheel Left-Right Arrow buttons until it shows. You'll go through several screens, but will reach the CC display eventually.
     
    Salamander_King likes this.
  16. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    10,300
    8,202
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    Yeah, I realized that. But, I never keep the MID on that screen. It is almost always on HSI or something more useful. So, for me, the CC display is always a momentary popup.
     
    prius16 likes this.
  17. prius16

    prius16 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    281
    147
    1
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2022 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    (y)
    Same for me.
    Plus, I mainly use the HUD.
     
    Salamander_King likes this.
  18. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    10,300
    8,202
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2021 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    I don't use HUD on my car, so I didn't notice, but even on the HUD, the CC set speed display must be just temporary, isn't it?
     
  19. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    43,351
    14,811
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Funny thing is that I don't even remember where the set speed shows but your image in post #9 is definitely different as I don't recall it being that colourful with the blue 3D lines. I think mine were just white and 2D.
     
    Salamander_King likes this.
  20. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    99,209
    44,953
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    what is a blinker :p
     
Loading...