1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

A/C Blower Motor Replacement

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by TylerC, Mar 12, 2015.

1. TylerC

TylerC New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    My A/C blower on my 2011 Prius was occasionally failing to start up, sometimes fixed by going over a speed bump or giving the glovebox a good solid whack. This lead me to this forum and this post about the exact problem in the Gen 2 Prius complete with handy images. Thus inspired to do the install myself, I ordered a part and went to work.

What I found was that the layout under the dash is just a little different in Gen 3, so I thought I'd take some photos as I went. My work seems to have been a success, so I guess I didn't do anything too terrible. However, I am not a mechanic and I can't promise that following in my footsteps won't screw something up. So, take all of this with a grain of salt.

There are lots of resources out there on how to remove the glove box, so I won't describe that.

First, make sure the replacement motor you buy accepts a three-pronged plug. Here's the side of the plug on the motor.
    [​IMG]

The view under the dash. The kick plate comes away after releasing the three tabs in front.
    [​IMG]

Here's the original motor in place; you can see its plug. The motor is held in place by three star-drive screws. Towards the bottom of the image you can see a little square hole in the plastic. The kick plate has a long tab on the back which (I think) is supposed to fit into that hole when reassembled.
    [​IMG]

I was able to remove the motor's plug by hand by depressing the tab and wiggling it out. Just don't pull on the wires themselves. Tuck the plug somewhere safely out of the way.
    [​IMG]

On the right side of the blower motor image above, you can just barely make out another set of wires belonging to something else entirely.