Adding cruise switch to basic version

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Technical Discussion' started by hassan310, Mar 26, 2019.

  1. hassan310

    hassan310 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    29
    7
    0
    Location:
    PK
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi everyone. I just tear down the steering column of my prius 4 gen. And installed the Crusie switch but it didn't work. I have attached the screenshot below taken from techstream. Why the switch is not responding? Do I need to reprograme the ecu?

    Lastly if my profile says I have Prius c. Just ignore it. I don't have it. But can't update due some error.
    thanks IMG20190325181501.jpeg
     
  2. alanclarkeau

    alanclarkeau Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    7,041
    7,568
    0
    Location:
    near Brisbane, Australia
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It almost looks like the ECU can't see a Cruise Control there at all. Possibly it's something which is flashed into the EPROM when the car is built? Sorry, I have no idea if its something which can be reprogrammed, or it might actually need a different ECU?

    Maybe @Elektroingenieur might have some idea?

    [PS - I've sent a note to the Moderator - maybe they can change the Prius c?]
     
  3. Elektroingenieur

    Elektroingenieur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    2,477
    3,202
    9
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    My posting from September 2017 has some background information. I still don’t know if it’s possible, as it was on older models, to add conventional (constant speed) cruise control to a fourth-generation Prius car just by installing and connecting the switch.
    I’m not aware of any settings (“Customize Parameters,” in Toyota’s terms) for this. As @alanclarkeau kindly notes, there may be differences in the ECU software, but in general, Toyota’s published information doesn’t discuss how to add features that weren’t on the vehicle when it was built and aren’t offered as dealer-installed options. Since the safe, reliable operation of the hybrid system depends on complete compatibility among the hybrid vehicle control ECU, engine control module, skid control (brake) ECU, and other ECUs, I’d recommend against any software configuration not approved by Toyota.

    I wonder, though, if your car might simply be missing some part of the wiring for the cruise control switch circuit, described in the U.S. and European editions of the Repair Manual and Electrical Wiring Diagram (more info). At the hybrid vehicle control ECU, on connector F3—uppermost of its three large connectors—is there a beige wire on terminal 14? Without this, the switch won’t do anything.

    F3-14.png

    If the wire is there, if you carefully¹ disconnect the connector and measure² the resistance between terminal 14 and body ground, does it change as you operate the cruise control switch? The resistance should be normally open (≥ 1 MΩ), 1510 to 1570 Ω with CANCEL pressed, 618 to 642 Ω with – SET ▼ pressed, 236 to 244 Ω with + RES ▲ pressed, and < 2.5 Ω with ON-OFF pressed.

    ¹ The connector is not sold separately, only as part of the complete wire harness.
    ² Be careful when probing connectors. The terminals are tiny and can be damaged easily; as you may know, it’s best to probe from the wire side with very thin test pins, such as those sold by Toyota.
     
    alanclarkeau likes this.
  4. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    43,854
    15,251
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I changed your profile to 2016 Prius. Hopefully that’s what you have.
     
    alanclarkeau likes this.
  5. hassan310

    hassan310 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    29
    7
    0
    Location:
    PK
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Mine is JDM prius. As per your post. It's Toyota safety sense or nothing. In short I can't run the switch only. Either I have to install all those components. i.e radar wave millimeter. Front camera recognition.

    So it's not possible to install switch only And make it functional.
     
  6. Elektroingenieur

    Elektroingenieur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    2,477
    3,202
    9
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    It’s true, as I wrote, that Toyota doesn’t offer constant-speed cruise control on Prius cars built for sale in Japan, but the required logic for it might be present in the hybrid vehicle control ECU anyway. Have you looked for the wire at terminal F3-14, as I described above?
     
  7. hassan310

    hassan310 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    29
    7
    0
    Location:
    PK
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes I did. A guy said all you need is to pull two wires from ecu and brake switch. The technician said we don't need to replace or modify anything in ecu.
    But the switch may not work life factory fitted. You may face errors. My recommendation is not to install it.
     
Loading...