Brake power warning - oops!

Discussion in 'Prime Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by chrisaw, Oct 4, 2021.

  1. chrisaw

    chrisaw Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2018
    25
    4
    0
    Location:
    Edinburgh, United Kingdom
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello all!

    So basically I decided to buy and install the Prius Offroad lift kit on my Prius Prime (or PHV as it's called here.)

    I don't think I did too bad a job of installing the kit but one stupid thing I did was remove the wrong connector from one side of the vehicle and I believe it was the the pipe connecting to the brake caliper.

    I swiftly reconnected this and upon lowering the car and turning it on - got a Christmas tree of warning lights.

    After some research I found that I could just clear these and top up my brake fluid which I did - to the line between mid and max.

    I haven't "bled" the brakes and after clearing the codes - the car hasn't yet promoted me with any other problem codes despite 3 full scans on the car.

    Does it seem like I'll be safe to drive the car? It's going to an "MOT" on Friday (road safety test in the UK) so want to make sure it's safe to drive there.

    Thanks!

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    94,763
    42,979
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    if there are no lights, you're fine. but does the mot pick up historical codes?
     
  3. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,669
    10,293
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    If you opened a brake line and put it back on, there's air in there now, and it needs to be bled.
     
    chrisaw and road2cycle like this.
  4. chrisaw

    chrisaw Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2018
    25
    4
    0
    Location:
    Edinburgh, United Kingdom
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Understood - I've got a mini vci device.

    I'll try bleeding the brakes with techstream and see how the car feels about that. :)

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  5. chrisaw

    chrisaw Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2018
    25
    4
    0
    Location:
    Edinburgh, United Kingdom
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I bled the brakes by following the instructions and then wiped the trouble codes. Car is now responding properly - thanks for the advice!
    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    dig4dirt likes this.
  6. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    14,669
    10,293
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
Loading...