1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Can I get an elevation profile from the onboard static pressure sensor?

Discussion in 'Prius v Technical Discussion' started by DS Justice, Mar 8, 2018.

1. DS Justice

DS Justice Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I'm doing some power consumption modeling for my Master's, and I'm doing some GPS and engine logging using OBD Fusion and a cheap bluetooth OBD2 adapter. It would be very useful to log road grade, but GPS altitude is incredibly inaccurate.

I'm hoping to use the onboard static/barometric pressure sensor as an altimeter. However, it's only indicating the nearest 1 kPa, which translates to a precision of 83m.

The PID list here says that PID 2101, values E and H are both for atmospheric pressure. I'm new to Canbus/OBD2 logging -- is there any way for me to get better precision from this sensor?

2. taxibuddy

taxibuddy Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    You can use GPS Visualizer to replace the GPS altitude data with map data. Depending on where exactly you are driving, this may be good enough for your purposes, but it's not perfect. In particular, bridges are likely to cause you problems with this method. GPS Track Editor can be used to delete these erroneous samples effectively drawing a straight line between them. There are other GPS problems you should be aware of including zero drift. NREL wrote a paper on methods for cleaning GPS data, but they focus on the other problems like zero drift and not on altitude problems.

One other comment on altitude replacement, roads are usually smoother version of the surrounding terrain because of the cuts and fills used in road building, so applying a low pass filter to the map altitude data results in a more realistic altitude profile.

3. DS Justice

DS Justice Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II