1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Changing an engine in a 2011. Too much for amateurs?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by gaffa, Oct 22, 2019.

1. gaffa

gaffa Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Is this too much to even attempt?

My brother and I are not car mechanics. But we are both incredibly handy. He's worked in apartment maintenance, installing and servicing and heating and air conditioning systems and he's a master plumber. I'm an electrician, electronics tech and live in a basement apartment that I built.

We have one secret weapon - one of my brother's oldest friends is a top mechanic, but he's just not physically capable of doing the work anymore (50 years of wrenching tends to destroy your body.) So he's available to let us know if we're doing anything really stupid.

Can a Prius engine swap be done in an ordinary garage? What tools will be need? What are we not anticipating?

bisco likes this.
  2. dig4dirt

dig4dirt MoonGlow

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    Anything is possible!

Just require lots of time, patience, beer, bloody knuckles, swear jar/change, lots of thinking and documenting and more beer.

Think about all the steps of the process beforehand, plan it out well and make sure to be ready with what can happen.

I never dived that deep, however I would not hesitate too long to start it with help and a mechanic on stand by.

3. Striker325

Striker325 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I would assume you would need some tools.
    Special tools to consider:
    Jacks
    Jack Stands
    Engine Cherry picker
    Decent torque wrench

Bay Stater, gaffa and bisco like this.
  4. Ed Beaty

Ed Beaty Active Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV