Codes from Techstream- 3000 & 3120

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by C Clay, Apr 26, 2015.

  1. C Clay

    C Clay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    193
    15
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Car won't start. Codes are p3000 and p3120

    Thanks in advance for putting up with one more thread for help before I tow somewhere.

    I had an old thread that got cumbersome (2001 shuttering to start, won't move in drive. | PriusChat) and I now have some cash to move forward.

    I've now added to minVCI and Techstream to my toolbox just to try and figure out what I need. A screen shot is attached.

    On my old post someone asked how to get the subcode. Can I do this with Techstream and/or what would some kind folks suggest next?


    [​IMG]


    iPhone ?
     
  2. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,248
    2,832
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I can't really help with much, but to answer this question, I believe you click on the "snowflake" to the left of those two trouble codes and it will take you to another screen which contains the sub-codes, and possible a whole lot of other goodness.

    Sorry I can't be of more help.
     
  3. vincent1449p

    vincent1449p Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    894
    331
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    The subcode is in the FFD (Freeze Frame Data) as what dolj pointed out.

    Vincent
     
  4. Patrick Wong

    Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    18,163
    6,222
    0
    Location:
    Green Valley, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    DTC P3120: your car's transaxle has failed.
    Info code 240 means that the generator is locked. Apparently there is a problem with MG1.
     
    #4 Patrick Wong, Apr 26, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2015
  5. C Clay

    C Clay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    193
    15
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Are you talking about this? I've already left the car [​IMG]



    iPhone ?
     
  6. C Clay

    C Clay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    193
    15
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Thanks Patrick, I have been thinking that all along. I just haven't had the cash to move it. At a shop I think that's about a $1500-2000+ repair?

    I have a new (re manufactured battery), new struts, other minor repairs like injectors, plugs,throttle position sensor. Interior is in excellent condition, body good, undercarriage is rusty from NE Ohio.

    How much would you guys put into this before you walk away and part out?


    iPhone ?
     
  7. Patrick Wong

    Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    18,163
    6,222
    0
    Location:
    Green Valley, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I don't know what the repair cost will be. My guess would double the amount you cited, for a used transaxle to be installed. Check the market value of the 2001 in your area, it probably will be less than the repair cost.

    From my signature block you can see that I sold my 2001 7 years ago. I think that Classic Prius is just one or two steps above a science experiment and its design was immature in many ways.

    Hence I am not someone who will encourage you to continue putting significant repair money into a Classic Prius especially if sizable corrosion damage is present. Unless, you like putting money down a rat hole, or working on the car is your hobby.
     
  8. C Clay

    C Clay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    193
    15
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Thanks for your help, I've been reading a lot on the forums and I don't seem to have the symptoms others experienced. I just went out to the car after a heavy rain and it didn't start. At least I know it could be bad, I'll tow and let you know.


    iPhone ?
     
  9. bwilson4web

    bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    24,082
    13,685
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
  10. vincent1449p

    vincent1449p Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    894
    331
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Yes, but I think not all your data are showing. Perhaps you have set the filter at the bottom of the screen to Primary?
    Primary Data filter.jpg

    If you have saved your data, you don't need to go back to the car to re-read the DTC and take photo. You can just reload the saved files and view the info.

    Inf code 240 means Generator locked but in your other thread, MG1 seems to be spinning. Since this Inf code is related to MG1, it is important to show all the data related to MG1.

    Vincent
     
  11. C Clay

    C Clay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    193
    15
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I'm using version 9.30.002 and don't have that pull down menu. Is there somewhere else in the menu I could indicate what you are describing?
    [​IMG]

    Vincent[/QUOTE]



    iPhone ?
     
    #11 C Clay, Apr 27, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2015
  12. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    4,350
    3,132
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    You can now buy aftermarket stator rather than new from Toyota.
    But the labor is still going to be a sizeable cost.

    Here's a recent failed transaxle I saw.

    Customer had 220K miles on the car. Walked away rather than fixing.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    11,782
    8,518
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    The MG2 stator burning out seems to be something that happens enough to be discussed on here regularly, and for Dorman to develop an aftermarket replacement stator.

    In this thread, though, the OP has codes that specifically indicate a problem with MG1, which is reportedly unable to turn. That's a whole other kettle of fish. MG1 is what spins the ICE to start it, so MG1 being unable to spin would certainly lead to a no-start.

    I would troubleshoot this into two cases:
    1. Is it really true that MG1 can't turn? Easy test: steer all the way to the right, take a few screws out of the right-hand engine under cover and drop that end of the cover enough to see the engine crankshaft pulley. Try to turn it. It's a low friction engine; mine is easily turned barehanded. With the wheels on the ground and not moving, it won't be possible to turn the crankshaft if MG1 won't turn. Or, jack up the right front wheel, pull the shifter out of park, and try to turn the wheel that's off the ground. If it won't turn (or trying to turn it also moves the ICE crankshaft), MG1 is stuck. If you can turn the wheel and the ICE crankshaft doesn't move, MG1 isn't really stuck. If MG1 isn't stuck but you still can't turn the crankshaft by hand, there's really an ICE problem.
    2. Or, if the above tests show that MG1 and the ICE can be turned freely, then the troubleshooting turns to why the ECU thinks MG1 is locked if it isn't, and that might end up being more of an electrical treasure hunt involving the MG1 resolver, ICE crank position sensor, associated wiring, etc.
    So the first step in distiguishing those two cases is to go out to the car and try to spin some stuff. Doesn't cost much, and then we'll know more.

    -Chap
     
    C Clay likes this.
  14. bwilson4web

    bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    24,082
    13,685
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    User "Orangeboy" in Canada bought a government auction NHW11 that had ripped a hole in the transaxle oil pan. The driver continued until the PSD mechanically welded itself in a solid mass. It was impossible to move the car as the engine was solid to the wheels. He wrote up how he swapped the transaxle in ecomodder.com.

    Bob Wilson
     
  15. C Clay

    C Clay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    193
    15
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Thanks Chap, a little difficult to do when car is 70 miles away at the school parking lot... but still on my list of maybes this weekend.
     
  16. C Clay

    C Clay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    193
    15
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Thanks for all your help guys. Where I'm at now is working with Greentech (whom I bought the battery from) to find a shop that has done some repairs on prius. Remember, I'm in Arkansas and there's no one here. My transmission shop for my suburban seems now interested and I have a good relation$hip with him- so maybe we have a plan. to start.

    I am trying to learn about the car more and to ask good questions and analyze if repair is worth it, and I stumbled upon this article:
    Hybrid Technology: Failure Analysis which indicates failing stator could lead to air conditioning problems as well?
    That I have. I had been reading about that on forums last year. A/C just stops working with blinking lights. Turn if off, and a few minutes later it works. Smoking gun indicating stator needs replaced?
     
  17. C Clay

    C Clay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    193
    15
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    UPDATE: I had it towed to a Toyota Dealer for a variety of reasons and they are saying this:
    • It needs a battery
    • It needs an ECU
    • Unrelated to why I brought It in- the brake lines are rusting and need replaced (Car was from Cleveland).
    My plan of action:
    1: Greentech will replace the battery under warranty.
    2: I will buy this lot of parts shown from a guy that is selling the last of his parts from a prius rebuilding partnership of days gone by (if anyone needs any other parts- I'll ship to you). Question- is that an ECU? I just did a quick google search to validate.
    3. The rust part is concerning- but I'm not longer in a a snow belt.

    Or just sell it as a parts car? Other than the #$%$ thing dying on me- I no of no other issues other than the flashing A/C and compressor shutting of.

    I value the advice of the group. I'm not an engineer, a mechanic, or at this point even a prius fan. Just a guy trying to patch it together :)
     
  18. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    11,782
    8,518
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Just for my insatiable curiosity's sake, in all this towing and dealering that just happened, did anybody try to spin the crankshaft or front wheels to check the spinnability of MG1? Just because, if I remember right, there was this computer code explicitly pointing to a stuck MG1, and not at all to an MG2 stator?

    -Chap
     
  19. C Clay

    C Clay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    193
    15
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    No Chap. I took it to the dealer because it was a inexpensive tow and an inexpensive diagnosis in my opinion. I'm assuming them to be the expert.


    iPhone ?
     
  20. C Clay

    C Clay Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    193
    15
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Update: The good folks at greentec came up and put a remanufactured battery in. Unfortunately, the 12v is totally dead. We did boost it off a couple of times, but I will charge or replace the 12v

    It did run rough.... What I consider a shudder. Technician said this was likely due to the 12v being dead. Claims the shutter went away after the 12v gains more charge.

    Can anyone confirm this?

    Just to drive this car home would be great. We could have drove it home tonight.... Except for the rusted break line- very possible something was done when towing it here because it never leaked before.


    iPhone ?
     
Loading...