1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Considering Head gasket replacement - 2011 Prius - 215k miles - P0303 misfire

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by An2TheTwan, Jul 18, 2022.

1. An2TheTwan

An2TheTwan Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I am an Uber driver and a few weeks ago I received the heavy engine shaking and code P0303. I drove about 500 miles since shaking began and have not been driving my Prius for several weeks now.

Thinking about doing the head gasket, but with my car having 215k, I still haven't made a decision. I have cleaned out the whole EGR circuit and changed spark plugs. Switched coils to see if misfire changed to a different cylinder, but it did not (stayed in cylinder 3 - P0303)

Since most head gaskets occur in cylinder one (P0301), I am concerned there is a bent piston rod. I have only drove my Prius about 500 miles since knocking began. My knocking/shaking goes away at higher mileage, but it doesn't go away at low speeds if my car has been warmed up.
    I was losing a lot of oil, about 1 quart ever one thousand miles (but not losing coolant) and I am concerned oil buildup may have caused the issue.

If I need to replace the piston/rod, how much additional disassembly would be required, or is there a way to remove the piston without taking out the entire engine? I did watch some YouTube videos where other people have done it, but I am not sure if you can do it with a Generation 3 Prius

I have created a list of things I plan on replacing/doing while changing out the head gasket. I am sure I am
    missing some things:

-thermostat
    -water pump
    -head bolts / socket
    -head gasket
    -head gasket kit
    -timing chain
    -seals(may come with kit)
    -sand paper for resurfacing
    -inspection of engine head by mechanic
    -piston/rod (if necessary)