Do I have a defective Entune unit?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by KieferSkunk, Mar 21, 2016.

  1. KieferSkunk

    KieferSkunk Technogeek

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    60
    24
    0
    Location:
    Seattle Region
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    After only two weeks in my new car, I've had the Entune unit fail to boot several times. When I turn the car on, I'll see the basic boot-screen warning message for longer than usual, then the screen and the lights around it go out for a few seconds, then come back to the same screen. This has happened four times now. On the second occasion, it took the screen three attempts to boot successfully.

    Each time this has happened, the system has lost my nav settings and my text-message settings. It comes up in the default "North up" orientation, split-screen navigation (on freeways, it shows me an exit list), at 300 ft. My preferred settings are "Angled forward" view, single-screen in all modes, 700 ft. The text-message screen also reverts to its default sound-effect for notifying me about incoming messages. And in the most recent incident, it also dropped my route (I'd stopped to use a restroom and turned the car off while navigating).

    It's worth noting that the system still has my memory points, Bluetooth settings, audio settings, etc. - it appears to be only a subset of the settings that get reverted, mostly affecting the nav unit.

    Is this a common issue for other 2016 owners? Should I take this back to the dealer and seek a warranty claim?
     
    JMFB likes this.
  2. glennonrp

    glennonrp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    175
    186
    0
    Location:
    Fontana, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    That doesn't seem right at all. I would go back to the dealer. Mine has never done that. I've had it since 2/28.
     
  3. third coast

    third coast Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    4
    3
    0
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I've had mine for about two weeks now and today it rebooted several times during a 25 minute drive. Are you still having your issues or did you discover what was causing it? Wondering if it's a simple fix or if I need to take it back to the dealer for a repair or new unit.
     
  4. JMFB

    JMFB New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    22
    6
    0
    Location:
    KC
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Mine is doing this and also forgetting all of my voice command training and asking me to do it again. Maybe @Prius Team can help with stopping our systems from resetting on their own. My local dealer was no help.
     
    #4 JMFB, Mar 24, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2016
  5. KieferSkunk

    KieferSkunk Technogeek

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    60
    24
    0
    Location:
    Seattle Region
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    It hasn't done it to me again since Sunday, but it may just be a matter of time.
     
    RCO likes this.
  6. FF/Medic

    FF/Medic Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    70
    25
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    #6 FF/Medic, Oct 8, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2016
    RCO likes this.
  7. Beverly Gunter

    Beverly Gunter New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I have a 2015 Prius 3 and my bluetooth/Entune System has never worked. I was told by Toyota I had to have WiFi off on the phone when I get in car. I pair with car, try to make a call and it may or may not go through then No Bluetooth Connection pops up. I was told to turn car off, open and shut door and try again. Dealership has not been able to fix and of course you sign a service completion order before you can get the keys to your car ONLY TO FIND OUT IT STILL SAYS NO BLUETOOTH CONNECTION. I'm exhausted over all this nonsense. I've made 15 payments and also after accumulating 2 1/4" liquid in DampRid found i had mold in the radiator core. It cost me $130. It is not covered under warranty because mold is an environmental issue. Honestly folks, this green car has been a nightmare and I hope you never experience any of these problems.
    I
     
  8. bob2004

    bob2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    19
    24
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I am having the same issue, is there a fix for this yet?
     
  9. thunderstruck

    thunderstruck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    138
    132
    1
    Location:
    IL
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Mine rebooted multiple times on the drive to work yesterday. Nothing like using smart phone for guidance and you don't realize there is no sound being sent to speakers. I finally turned BT off on phone and used built in speaker.
     
    RCO likes this.
  10. RCO

    RCO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2016
    1,585
    1,744
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I'm coming to the same conclusion as you. I don't have Nav or engine on my UK Business Edition, which is similar spec to your three, but my Nexus 6 has two good front facing stereo speakers. BTW, I'm using Waze or Google maps for the nav.
     
  11. krmcg

    krmcg Lowered Blizzard Pearl Beauty

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    1,623
    1,433
    0
    Location:
    Whittier, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I had some occasional issues with my head unit and deleted the entune app from my phone. Then I had the dealer "reflash" my system. When I reinstalled entune everything is good.
     
    RCO likes this.
  12. bob2004

    bob2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    19
    24
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I think I fixed the issue , for me it was the text notification (the one that pops up in the middle of the screen). I switched that off and haven't had it crashing since.
     
  13. tevogel

    tevogel Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    40
    2
    0
    Location:
    slater,mo.
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius Alpha
    Model:
    IV
    i had same problem deleted paring on phone and car then shut both off for a few mins then turn both on and repair
    when phone asks u to allow text messages u must cancell that.then bluetooth will work fine on phone,i di it and works great.amazing a simple fix for all that frustation.
     
  14. mkutner

    mkutner Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    12
    11
    0
    There's a lot of discussion about reboots in this thread. In my case, the dealer's solution was to replace the head unit. After the replacement, I haven't seen any problem.
     
    RCO likes this.
  15. narf

    narf Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    605
    37
    4
    Location:
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    there have been several firmware updates released for the Entune system to fix random reboots. The dealer flashed the latest update on my car in February and I haven't had any reboots since.
     
    RCO likes this.
  16. Valencia Orange

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    178
    54
    0
    Location:
    Valencia, CA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I can not get the Bluetooth to work with music and my iPhone. They told me I needed a new radio. Yesterday they put in the new radio and the Bluetooth still did not work. I knew replacing the radio would not work. Now they tell me they have to order a module and that will fix it. I have my doubts.
     
  17. Montgomery

    Montgomery Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    882
    818
    2
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Not being a pro in regards to this, it would seem that the software in the Entune units in your cars were outdated when they were sold. Meaning, they needed to be updated with current software versions. It seems this is an issue specifically with Toyota cars. If it happened to me, I would insist on an update for the unit and if that doesn't work, a newer unit. Sorry that all of you have had head unit issues. Mine has worked fine for me. But I have a 2015.
     
Loading...