1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

G9510-47031 install questions

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Randy Castleman, Dec 7, 2021.

1. Randy Castleman

Randy Castleman New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Hello everyone, first post here. Im a recently retired automotive tech. My daughter bought a nice 165,000 mile 08 Prius a few months ago. Yesterday, the dreaded ToD with codes PA080 and P3000 recently came up. I've cleaned the HV cooling fan (not very dirty) and checked for any loose or corroded grounds and connections, none found. I'm pretty sure the HV battery has failing modules. I'm looking at getting a new Toyota HV battery and installing it. I have looked thru as many threads as I could find on installing a new Toyota battery. I have all of the tools needed, including an inch. pound torque wrench. My question is, what parts does the new battery NOT come with that I will need to complete the installation correctly? Thanks in advance for all you help and advice.

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Whatever part the new battery doesn't come with, you take it from the old battery before returning the core (the ECU and Relays). The battery packs are split into 2, you just have to separate the ecu and relays and transfer them onto the new battery.

Looking at your location, a member just bought a new battery from crown Toyota in Ontario. He mentioned that place has the best online price for the battery. And I also have some dead modules if you want to keep some of your good modules in your battery pack. I can give you some old dead modules to return.

Raytheeagle likes this.
  3. Randy Castleman

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring