Gen3 Wheels on Prime

Discussion in 'Prime Accessories and Modifications' started by mtramm, Oct 7, 2017.

  1. mtramm

    mtramm New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Does anybody know if Prius Gen3 wheels will fit on a Prime, just bolt-n-go? I don't like the Prime Premium wheel covers, and black wheels look better to me than the OEM silver underneath the covers. I plasti-dipped my wheels black, but they didn't come out as shiny as I've seen the Gen3 black wheels under the covers.
     
  2. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,397
    7,887
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Yes same fit
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  3. SoCal Ken

    SoCal Ken Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    3
    0
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Please post pics.
     
  4. Hodatch

    Hodatch Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    19
    14
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    I swwpped 2015 prius wheels (glossy black) onto my 2017 prius prime and everything fit and bolted right up. However, 2 problems arose.

    1) my prime hubcaps will not fit on the old wheels (and the 2015 hubcaps will not fit on the 2017 wheels) had the wheel measured and the 2017 has a .05mm larger outer lip and the valve stem does not line up correctly.

    2) the tpms sensors on the 2015 will not work on the 2017. Took a few days before my sensor went off, and now I'm not sure what needs to be done. Especially since the old prius is now sold and in another state. I've been searching for a solution but yet to find one. And I'm afraid the stealership will charge me to fix it.

    Anyone have a solution considering I don't have the previous tpms?? Carista?

    I will post pics tomorrow

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  5. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    11,698
    11,291
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I believe Techstream could possibly pair them if they are compatible. @Elektroingenieur may know.
     
  6. Hodatch

    Hodatch Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    19
    14
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
  7. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Cloud Watcher

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    47,057
    33,567
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I don't get it though: ghetto black rims, with exposed hubs? :confused:

    I know: compatible.
     
  8. Elektroingenieur

    Elektroingenieur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    2,264
    3,027
    9
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    The Toyota Techstream diagnostic system can definitely do TPMS registration, but as I wrote in May and November, I don’t know if TPMS transmitters from older Prius cars are compatible with the fourth-generation system. They have some parameters in common, but there isn’t enough published data to say for sure, and no one replied in those threads to share their actual results.

    If you don’t already have Techstream, I’d suggest going to a tire shop: they should be able to try the TPMS registration for you, and if that doesn’t work, they can unmount the tires and install new transmitters.
     
    Prodigyplace likes this.
  9. padroo

    padroo Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    2,763
    2,243
    13
    Location:
    Chesterton, Indiana Another third world country.
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    If you can access the codes from your old wheels those codes can be programmed into programmable TPMS.

    A few companies make them, I bought the Autel MX programmable ones and the tool to program them .

    I have a new set of wheels I will mount tires on in the spring and my new sensors are now programmed , actually

    cloned with the same codes that are still on the car. When I switch wheels the car will not know the difference.
     
    Elektroingenieur likes this.
  10. Elektroingenieur

    Elektroingenieur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    2,264
    3,027
    9
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    That’s a good point. Techstream can show the registered ID codes under Tire Pressure Monitoring > Data List; I don’t know if Carista or other apps can also do this.
     
    Prodigyplace likes this.
  11. Hodatch

    Hodatch Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    19
    14
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    They're the same rim the car comes with already, except these are silver and the gen 3 are gloss black. And personally I think they look better than the rim with the ugly hubcap. As far as center caps, just ordered some ghetto TRD ones on Amazon Stay posted

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  12. Hodatch

    Hodatch Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    19
    14
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    I don't have access to the old wheels anymore. Car was sold and gone already. I just ordered carista, I'm hoping it will help with my issue. Worst case, tire shop it is. Or just wait for my new wheels around summer time.

    Appreciate the feedback

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  13. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Cloud Watcher

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    47,057
    33,567
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I despise the wheel covers also, with you there. And our 3rd gen is currently on black steel rims, with snow tires, albeit at least with the hub openings closed. Exposed, they rust out like crazy up here.

    But I'm just not enamoured of black rims, that's why we went with the (3rd gen) Canadian Touring, with the bare, silver 17" rims. Also have a set of loose 15" PIP rims, not sure how and when I'm going to employ them.
     
    Hodatch likes this.
Loading...