GenIII Prius Custom PIDs for Torque app

Discussion in 'OBDII Android App' started by usbseawolf2000, Oct 7, 2011.

  1. lo_aus

    lo_aus Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    6
    0
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius+ MPV
    Model:
    N/A
    Are these PIDs applicable for a 2014 Prius V (7 seater) in Australia ?
    Thanks
     
  2. Tbkilb01

    Tbkilb01 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    182
    181
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    The ENGINE LINK APP works great with ELM 327 from Australia. Has all those PIDS and more.
     
  3. Oleg46

    Oleg46 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    rus
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Alpha
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Здравствуйте! Подскажите, есть PID для 30/41 Prius для регулировки скорости вращения вентилятора (долго искал, но нашел только для гена 2), который по гену 3 не работает. Спасибо!Gen2 Prius: Custom PIDs for Torque (Android App) with formulas | PriusChat
     
  4. Oleg46

    Oleg46 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    rus
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Alpha
    Model:
    Four Touring
  5. Buderim

    Buderim Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    28
    10
    1
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    i-Tech
    I have been trying to get rid of my reverse beep using Torque app pro , I have been following the instructions but I cannot get rid of the beep.

    I have took some photos of my screen , so maybe someone might spot what I have done wrong .

    One thing that looks odd is the Reverse beep query show a value of 142 which seems a odd number.

    Any advice would be very welcome ... DSC05576.JPG DSC05577.JPG DSC05580.JPG DSC05581.JPG DSC05584.JPG
     
  6. Buderim

    Buderim Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    28
    10
    1
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    i-Tech
    I am trying to find a PID that shows the battery cooling fan speed in realtime , can anyone tell me if there is one ?
     
  7. Revell

    Revell Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    2
    3
    0
    Location:
    sweden
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It's
    pid: 218b
    header: 7E2
    equation: A / 2

    In that massive pid list that exists somewhere on this forum it's called "Cooling fan 0".

    /Revell
     
    Creliandobi, SFO and Buderim like this.
  8. Buderim

    Buderim Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    28
    10
    1
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    i-Tech
    Thanks .
     
  9. sdupadhye

    sdupadhye Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    7
    1
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Would you please let me know if you're referring to the CSV in the OP or something else ?
     
  10. Furina

    Furina New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    11
    2
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Business Edition
    Few pages ago, PID for BSFC were posted. What are the reasons that can make my rates very high? Engine issue ?
     
  11. Xavier75

    Xavier75 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    13
    4
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    What is going on with these numbers? HV Block voltages are all over the place. Has anybody seem this before. I have a Gen 3 with less than 37k miles. Already tried different csv files with same results. Could I have a bad HV battery even though car runs fine and no codes? 1518845470700.png 1518845497330.png 1518845534421.png

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  12. Paul Evans

    Paul Evans New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2018
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    N/A
    Morning. I'm based in UK and have a 2015 PIP. I wonder if anyone can help -

    I have the torque pro app on a nexus 7 2013 tablet. I have purchased a cheap clone Bluetooth adapter (search Torque Pro Elm327 on Amazon UK, its the first hit) . I want to use Torque pro to look at the voltage and internal resistance of my traction battery on my PIP. I have downloaded and installed the list of extended PIDs. I can connect to the adapter from my tablet and Torque Pro. I can successfully read some PIDs such as coolant temp and engine RPM. However although I can create real time measures for PIDs such as battery volts and internal resistance, they don’t show any values.

    Key info is - adapter version is ELM327 v1.5. OBD standard is European OBD. OBD protocol is ISO15765-4CN11/500. VIN number is correct. Available sensors - a short list of sensors is provided (much shorter than the extended PIDs list) but battery volts and resistance not among them. App version 1.8.199.

    I have found an article (google "counterfeit elm327", first hit) which sounds like the adapter I have purchased may not correctly implement the full OBDII instruction set (because my adapter says it has firmware v1.5, which ELM never issued).

    So, can people who have correctly read all battery volts and internal resistances for PIP please tell me what adapter they used?

    Can anyone suggest any obvious error I have made (other than buying a cheap adapter!)?

    The version of Torque Pro I have already had PIDs installed for Prius Battery volts and internal resistances. After I installed the extended PIDs it now has 2 sets, one labelled Prius and one not. Neither set work. Did I need to install the extended PIDs, or are these now built in to Torque Pro? Which set is preferred?

    Both sets of PIDs list 8 sets of battery volts and internal resistances for the PIP. Is this correct?

    Many thanks

    Paul
     
  13. Soumya Sen

    Soumya Sen Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    6
    0
    0
    Location:
    India
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Technology

    The BCM is at CAN address 750 and gateway 40. The ECU replies at address 758 and gateway 40.
    So it will looks like this -
    Send to ECU - 750 40 01 3E
    Reply from ECU - 758 40 01 7E

    I tried applying your method to this problem (sending command via HyperTerminal to elm 327 device) like this -
    Try 1: Send to ECU - AT CAF 0, AT SH 750, 40 3E, AT CAF 1
    Reply from ECU - NO DATA

    Try 2:
    Send to ECU - AT CAF 0, AT SH 750, 40 01 3E, AT CAF 1
    Reply from ECU - NO DATA

    Can you please help me where I am getting it wrong.
     
  14. Tiff

    Tiff Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    86
    19
    0
    Location:
    Crawley
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I can't get battery block values to show in torque Pro. Any ideas anyone I've tried and read all these posts no luck
     
  15. Randy Miner

    Randy Miner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2019
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Florida USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Maybe you are using the inquiry instead of the using the command at that cancels the beep which is found further down in the list. I made that mistake when trying to turn off the beep on my Prius.

     
  16. TheLandYacht

    TheLandYacht Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2020
    71
    40
    0
    Location:
    Kingsland, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    N00b question(s).

    With the understanding that I use this car for semi-long distance commutes daily, 45miles each way, with 95% of that distance spent at or above 70mph.

    1. Which PIDs are most important to "watch" on a regular basis, which ones do you tend to have on your "main" live screen?
    2. Is there a description of what a lot of these are, buried in the 20 pages of responses? I didn't see anything in the first 2-3 pages before I gave up.

    3. Which PIDs would you suggest "logging" long-term? And is there a way to setup Torque pro to do so automatically, rather than having to hit the "record" button every time?

    and...

    4. I note that the speed reported from Torque Pro is consistently 2mph lower than that shown on the dash, at all speeds as far as I can tell. Is this normal? I've passed by one of those road-side Radar signs that gives you a speed reading...and it matches what Torque says, rather than what my dash says. I've thought about adding the "GPS MPH" pid as well, to compare them, but haven't gotten a round tuit.
     
  17. TheLandYacht

    TheLandYacht Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2020
    71
    40
    0
    Location:
    Kingsland, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    apologies...

    For above, I have a 2010 Prius, which makes it Gen 3, if I've done my research right...with 130k(ish) miles on the clock.

    Also, I've learned to my dismay that the previous owner(s) may not have done the maintenance(s) as religiously as I was lead to believe. When I changed the oil last weekend, it was HORRIDLY black and filter looked terrible.

    I had been losing on average about 1/2 quart of oil per tank-ful of fuel (so with my driving, about 1/2quart per week or so). The first things I did were a can of BG 44k in the tank & going up a notch (to 5w-20) on the oil viscosity when I did my oil-change. Did those based on advice found on PriusChat.

    So far, after the above, my oil level has remained constant so I might have gotten lucky with an easy fix for that.
     
  18. StephenFromCT

    StephenFromCT Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2019
    40
    11
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Hello,

    A) I installed the full paid version Torque Pro ($5) on an Android 10 smartphone.

    The app comes with a set of predefined Gen 3 PIDs which I installed using this YouTube video:



    B) What do they mean, which ones should be flashing, and when should they stop flashing?

    C) In the Torque Pro app there are four icons for which I had not found any description:

    1) a "push pin"
    2) a smartphone
    3) a OBD2 adapter (or something which is inserted)
    4) a car

    D) Unfortunately, I can see only one or two values (such as one of the coolant temperatures). I cannot see any of the high voltage traction battery voltages. I cannot see (or set) the fan speed.

    Within the app, under adapter status info, I see a list of available sensors. But none seem to be specific for the Prius hybrid functions.

    E) The simplest explanation is that the wifi OBD reader which a friend gave me (an ELM 327 clone) is the problem. It has a decent speed, roughly 40-80 PID reads per second. (In Torque Pro, I did NOT delete any of the default displays.)

    Have any readers had success connected a wifi OBD reader to Android Torque Pro?

    F) Also under adapter status info, I see "ISO15765-4CAN11/500" for the OBD protocol.

    G) The VIN reported for my vehicle is correct, so I know at least some codes are being read correctly and that the wifi is working.

    H) Just two quick related questions.

    If I use the Prius Gen 3 PIDs from Torque Pro do I need to use Vincent's spreadsheet?

    From the first page of this thread I found the link to Vincent's list of revisions, but I did not see a link to his last spreadsheet from October 2019 in which the CSV tabs were deleted.

    I am very happy to try any "command line" codes (eg. issued from a terminal) to troubleshoot.

    Thanks for any tips, insights, or questions!

    Stephen
     
    #398 StephenFromCT, Nov 6, 2020
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2020
  19. marlinsmobile

    marlinsmobile Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    105
    129
    6
    Location:
    Sandy Springs (Atlanta), GA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'll see if I can answer some of your questions! I know that only specific wifi adapters would work with older versions of Android (unless the device was rooted), but not sure if that's still the case. I personally use a corded USB adapter.

    B & C) the four blue icons in the upper left indicate whether the various devices are communicating properly (satellite, phone, adapter, car). They should all become solid (not flashing) once everthing is connected properly.
    The thing that kind of looks like a push pin I think is a satellite icon (for GPS).

    D) Since the traction battery is specific to the Prius, you'll need to load the Prius-specific PIDs as described in the video, which it sounds like you have done already. Just make sure to use the correct version for your model year (Gen 2, Gen 3, or PHV). Since you've got a 2013 (like me!), you'll need Gen 3. I've never used the ones pre-loaded with Torque (as shown in the video); I've always used the "Vincent1449p" sheet linked in the first post under "Display Custom PIDs"

    H-1) I can't speak to the accuracy of the pre-loaded PIDs, as I use the spreadsheet... To load PIDs from the spreadsheet:
    • Open it in Google Sheets --> click on the US sheet --> File --> Download --> Comma-separated values. Do the same for the Customize Options tab, if you want those, too (begone, backup beep!)
    • Next, save those two files to your .torque\extendedpids folder (on your phone)
    • Now, when you go to Settings --> Manage extra PIDs/sensors --> hamburger menu --> Add predefined set, your new set will appear in the list (select it to load the PIDs from the spreadsheet)
     
  20. archibald tuttle

    archibald tuttle Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    33
    0
    0
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I don't think this is the so-called massive list although I can see that @usbseawolf2000 has worked on this extensively. I also found a text file in another thread:

    ZVW35 Custom PIDs for Torque (Android App) 20Mar12 - US.txt

    but none of these seem remotely comprehensive. Some are more focused on engine.hybrid and battery. I'm looking for peripherals like brakes, steering, etc. I loaded the predefined PIDs with Torque Pro for the Gen 3, and that is an extensive list that combines various drive train and peripheral systems but there is no search function available in the settings of Torque when looking to add display so i really need a list that a i can search for keywords.

    The list is alphabetical which can often lead you to the right place but some issues like "Communication" that you might not even think of can relate to HV, Brakes, Air Con and that is under "C" for communication. Of cours you can spend time scrolling through and usefully familiarize yourself with parameters available in that predefined set, but I'm still not convinced that the Torque set is complete or definitive and you can't search it.

    Some seem to refer to .csv files for this set that maybe could be extracted. But there are many things in the list that are not in either @usbseawolf2000's list above or in the text list (which i'm not 100% sure is aimed at gen. 3).

    This seems to be one of the longest and most comprehensive threads on the subject generally and on the gen 3 set in particular. It would be great if there is some common document that we can add PIDs to, or make a wikipedia page or something because even tracing 20 pages of issues here I can't seem to get a complete list which is no ones fault but just doesn't seem to get organized by individual questions on particular systems that any one of us might be grappling with on the given day.

    I don't know if these are listed or can be output more fully from techstream or what fancy extraction could accomplish this, or just crowdsourced resource like a wiki might help but running the flag up here.

    thanks
     
Loading...