How much space will Techstream need for a Windows XP computer?

Discussion in 'Prius OBDII Third-Party Apps' started by Isaac Zachary, Feb 8, 2021.

  1. Isaac Zachary

    Isaac Zachary Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    351
    136
    1
    Location:
    Gunnison, Colorado, USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I think I'm going to try to install Techstream again on a computer I found. It's a cute little 9" Asus Eee PC 4G.

    But the "4G" doesn't refer to wireless connectivity, but rather the 4GB SSD it comes with as the boot drive.

    Windows XP will take up just a bit more than 1G (right now it has Linux but I'm going to install XP). That leaves about 2.5GB for Techstream.

    I just can't seem to find any information as to whether that will be enough. Will Techstream need more than 2.5GB? And if it does, can I use an SD card to make up the difference? The internal SSD is apparently soldered to the motherboard so I can't upgrade it, at least not cost effectively.

    I could find out myself but will need to purchase Windows XP first then try...
     
    #1 Isaac Zachary, Feb 8, 2021
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2021
  2. Elektroingenieur

    Elektroingenieur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    1,995
    2,693
    9
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    Toyota’s system requirements for current versions of the Techstream software are on page 7 of their Techstream FAQ (PDF). I don’t know whether the minimum requirements for operating system (Windows 10), RAM (4 GB), or disk space (5 GB) are enforced by the setup program or the software itself.
     
  3. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    11,213
    8,147
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Older version here, but seems to be a shade under 300 MB in the Toyota Diagnostics folder. That's just the space it takes up; I haven't watched closely to see what it consumes while running.

    You'll also need the driver for whatever dongle you're using. My "XHorse Mini VCI" driver seems to account for about 6.5 MB under "XHorse Electronics"; the OpenPort 2.0 driver seems to be about 5.7 MB under "OpenECU" (but it seems to have gone and stuck op20pt32.dll over in Windows\System32, another 1.7 MB).

    I think it's handy to also have the "DrewTech J2534-1 Tool" installed (handy for dongle testing). That's another 6.3 MB or so.
     
    Isaac Zachary likes this.
  4. Isaac Zachary

    Isaac Zachary Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    351
    136
    1
    Location:
    Gunnison, Colorado, USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Awesome! I'll give it a try. I also forgot but I should be able to install a trial version of XP and test it all out before purchasing a product key. I'd also like to up the ram, which is at 512MB right now, assuming it works with Techstream and a OBDII dongle. Here's a picture of the computer. It's smaller than my Surface Go. WIN_20210209_01_41_39_Pro.jpg
    Also a Linus Tech Tips Video:
     
  5. alftoy

    alftoy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    135
    57
    0
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Upgrade
    Less than 750mb

    Question about Techstream | PriusChat
     
    Isaac Zachary likes this.
Loading...