Hybrid Batteries Voltage Confusing

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Smartcuror, Oct 1, 2018.

  1. Smartcuror

    Smartcuror New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    7
    2
    0
    Location:
    London
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Active
    Hello,

    New to me Prius 2015 T3, bought 2 weeks ago. Torque Pro readings show varying figures for hybrid battery blocks at different times. I am wondering if that is ok. Some read as low 0.314 and others as high as 45 volts.

    Any help?[​IMG]
     
  2. Smartcuror

    Smartcuror New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    7
    2
    0
    Location:
    London
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Active
    [​IMG]
     
  3. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    6,289
    2,628
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Each block voltage is constantly changing as you drive but they all need to be similar and should read between 13-16volts, but maybe you're reading resistance and not voltage? If it is voltage, your car is pretty new to have a problem with voltage sensor reading errors caused by corrosion, but what's the history of it? Is it a salvaged title? Perhaps rebuilt from flood damage?
     
  4. Smartcuror

    Smartcuror New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    7
    2
    0
    Location:
    London
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Active
    Thanks for the reply.
    This a screenshot taken while driving.
    I really can't tell what is happening.

    I checked the resistance values.. most of them seem to be around 0.02 besides blocks 9 to 14 which read around 0.002.

    The car is just 3 years old. 72k mileage. Bought from a leasing company. Have full Toyota dealer service history. Mpg is between 55 mph and 62 mpg on a combination of city and motorway roads

    I really cant tell if there is anything fishy going on.

    Could it be an ecu problem? Any pointers appreciated.

    IMG-20180930-WA0001(1).jpeg

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  5. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    6,289
    2,628
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Those voltage readings are impossible... You need to take the battery out and clean all the corrosion off the wiring harness... There's lots of youtube videos of how to do that.
     
    Smartcuror likes this.
  6. JimN

    JimN Let the games begin!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    7,028
    1,113
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I wouldn't touch the pack while the car is under warranty. I would suspect a flaky connector, connection, or Torque-Pro before believing something is wrong in the car.
     
    qettyz, Smartcuror and davecook89t like this.
  7. davecook89t

    davecook89t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    1,014
    745
    0
    Location:
    Washington State, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Right, I would buy another OBD2 connector for a few pounds and try that. There can't be anything wrong with the battery if you don't see any warning lights.
     
    Smartcuror likes this.
  8. Smartcuror

    Smartcuror New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    7
    2
    0
    Location:
    London
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Active
    Could the mini bluetooth ELM 327 obd scanner also be at fault?

    Any ideas how i could investigate this further.

    Car drives well though. No errors at when scanned with various softwares


    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    davecook89t and PriusCamper like this.
  9. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,276
    4,619
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Jeeezzzzz.....it's a 2015. LITHA. there is no way there is a battery problem, especially with the car driving great. If there was an actual problem the dash would be lit up like a christmas tree. Now throw in that the 12v battery is showing as ZERO. The 12v system has nothing to do with the HV battery. Too many jacked up readings on the app to be trusted at all.

    I second/third/fourth the above about communication issue or app issue. Is this a good OBD device or a $6 one?

    Here's my recommendation:

    Remove the OBD device. Delete the app and use your phone as a phone. Drive the car and enjoy it. A year or two down the road, try it again. You'll be more familiar with the car and how it acts and performs.
     
    #9 TMR-JWAP, Oct 3, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2018
  10. Smartcuror

    Smartcuror New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    7
    2
    0
    Location:
    London
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Active
    Obd device is a cheap one. Looking to invest in a good one to check again.. any recommendations please ?

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  11. cnc97

    cnc97 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    1,382
    1,492
    38
    Location:
    Evansville, IN
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three

    +1. When the triangle of death comes on with every red light on the dash, then worry. As long as the triangle isn’t there, you have nothing to worry about. I bought one of these OBD readers, I have some settings that I monitor once in a while, but it’s out of “sheer, morbid curiosity” rather then thinking I have an issue.
     
    Smartcuror likes this.
  12. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    6,289
    2,628
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Also forgot to mention trying a different app, as well as different OBD2 reader and if you still have a warranty on the car make the most of it... But if I had to put the blame on something, I'd say that it's the OBD2 reader you need to get a refund on. Here's a buying guide to make sure you get a good one: priusapp.com/obd
     
    Smartcuror likes this.
  13. davecook89t

    davecook89t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    1,014
    745
    0
    Location:
    Washington State, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Right, I meant the OBD scanner, rather than the OBD2 port on the car. Everybody else seems to be of the same opinion.
     
  14. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    6,289
    2,628
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    In my experience of almost never ending junk OBD2 purchases the failure of the devices is never bad readings just simply not connecting and not functioning in the first place... If you get one that actually functions it works perfectly. As for Torque app, I've never been able to get it to work and the app is no longer supported, just more dead software that generates revenue no matter how bad the latest code fails are and people keep paying even when no one ever responds to what's wrong.
     
    Smartcuror likes this.
  15. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    6,289
    2,628
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Catch is the good ones and the bad one are similar in price... For me it was the hardest consumer electronics purchase ever, so many fails. But this guide here seems to still be mostly true: priusapp.com/obd
     
    Smartcuror likes this.
  16. exstudent

    exstudent Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    2,207
    880
    0
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Comical!

    Why can you not do as post # 9 says?
    Do you have any tools: socket/ratchet, wrenches, screw/philip drivers?
    Do you have a torque wrench?
    Do you have a DVM (Digital Volt Meter)?
    Do you have Techstream?
    Do you have the factory service manual?

    If you do not have the above tools in your possession, you really have no business attempting to psycho-analyze your vehicle.

    "A" for effort for wanting to learn. But
    Since you are dead set on getting a OBD2 reader, get a BAFX; remember, you got what you paid for (low cost = junk). ALL OBD2 readers have very limited code reading and diagnostic capability on the Prius b/c they CAN NOT read ALL the codes.
     
  17. Smartcuror

    Smartcuror New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    7
    2
    0
    Location:
    London
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Active
    Thanks a lot

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  18. PriusCamper

    PriusCamper Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    6,289
    2,628
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Phones no longer exists unless you're really, really old... That phone-like thing you carry around that can on rare occasions be used as a phone is the primary device for plugging in and connecting with humans and machines.

    Telling someone to not use the device as such is like telling a soldier to attack the enemy without a gun or even a knife...

    If you don't want to learn to sync your device to your vehicle, your database, your friends and family and all the basic functions of your home, your finances and day to day business of modern life expect to be so far behind the times you soon won't be able to interact with most forms of commerce, with society in general and most of all with sustaining your health and well being, not to mention entertainment.
     
    #18 PriusCamper, Oct 5, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2018
  19. exstudent

    exstudent Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    2,207
    880
    0
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    We (you and I) use our respective smartphones in a similar manner. Great.

    Unfortunately w/ written communication, misinterpretation and offense occurs too easily. Text does not covey visual and audible clues. In my opinion, you missed the main point from Post #9; edited for brevity here:

    The OP is overly concerned about a problem, that very likely WILL NOT occur for some time. As you may know, the OEM HV battery is very reliable for 8-10years. Low failure rate before 8years. Expect a failure some time after year 10. There is a reason the HV Battery is warranted for 8-10years in the US (depending on CARB vs non-CARB State); its a long period to give the consumer confidence, and Toyota knows that in 8-10years, they will have very few claims to cover.

    OP would do him/her a service and delete the app, and stop wondering about a problem that will MOST LIKELY NOT manifest for a few years. This was recommended in Post #9 too.

    OP would be better served setting money aside (weekly/monthly/annually) to cover this dreaded future repair (ie HV Battery falure), that may occur as early as 2023 (2015+8=2023), to possibly some time in 2025 or later (2015+10=2025). When DTC P0A80 manifests, OP could use the saved money to replace the HV Battery or, use the repair money to purchase another new/used vehicle.

    On a side note, your signature indicates you are a K&N fan. Read Post#37. How often do you change yout air filter? | Page 2 | PriusChat
    Compelling study done by some Nissan enthusiasts on many air filters (K&N included). There is also a compelling study performed by the EPA in the post too:
    "Closed-loop control in modern fuel injected vehicle applications is sophisticated enough to keep a clogged air filter from affecting the vehicle fuel economy."LINK to the EPA study (2-2009). However, Horsepower will suffer due to this clogged air filter, to maintain efficiency (MPG).​
    It is your car and money, so do as you please. But, facts (not "alternative facts") might make you reconsider your expenditure. K&N does a great job of marketing MPG improvement and "cost" savings, that many people believe.
     
  20. JimN

    JimN Let the games begin!

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    7,028
    1,113
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    To answer the question, I bought a Tactrix Openport 2.0 and installed Techstream on i-3 laptops running Win7 & Win10. I don't know if they ship overseas.

    Installation was easy. Techstream may not be 100% functional but so far whatever is not available hasn't been noticed.
     
Loading...