1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Hybrid Battery Reconditioning(Requesting some help)

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Damian BSO, Dec 18, 2022.

1. Damian BSO

Damian BSO New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello, I am new to this group, I have a 2004 Toyota Prius, and I got it two and half years ago. I have some experience with Priuses but am pretty new to it. I am currently trying to recondition my hybrid battery modules. I have read a couple of forums and watched a couple of videos about it. I got two Tenergy T180 battery chargers because I found some info about them and I am also on a tight budget. I have been cycling the modules for the past four days, I am still in the process, but I don't like the numbers that I am getting and I don't know if it is because of the chargers or the modules are really bad. The results are very inconsistent and the majority of the modules that I have done so far have not even gotten a reading above 2500mah and I am very concerned about it. I don't know if I should replace the majority of them or find a better method. I do want to point out that I have been driving with a bad hybrid battery code for a long time and that might be the reason why they are all giving a low reading, but I would to hear your guys opinions and suggestions.
    These are the settings I used to cycle the modules.
    capacity 6500
    chg current 5.0a
    dchg current 5.0a
    dchg end volt 6.3v
    CHG/DCHG
    5T
    5 min in between

SaneAutoYoutube and bisco like this.
  2. Damian BSO

Damian BSO New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Here is a picture of some of my readings, in some modules the mah decreased per cycle

Attached Files:

3. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two