Install Joying 9" Android 10 head unit with backup camera

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by tamo3, Aug 10, 2021.

  1. tamo3

    tamo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2021
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three


    I'm new to here.
    I'm trying to install Joying 9" Android Head unit to 2010 Prius 3(Radio & CD only no screen)
    Spec is:
    Joying 9inch Android10 Car Radio for Toyota Prius 2009-2013 Left Drive GPS DSP SPDIF Subwoofer Carplay 5GWIFI Optical Output DAB

    Product description :
    *Powerful Android 10.0 System.
    *CPU:UIS7862 Eight-Core [email protected](Memory)+64GB(Storage).
    *Built-in Android Auto&Apply Wireless Carplay.
    *Built-in SIM Card Slot.
    *Optical Output&Coaxial Output.
    *Built-in DSP With 32-Band EQ.
    *5GHz WIFI Provides High Loading Speed.
    *Radio Chip TDA7786, Amplifier Chip:TDA 7851.

    When I remove factory radio, it looks like it has SAT support cable.
    Does SAT support cable is as same as GPS support?
    If I got a converter cable and plug into GPS port onto new Android head unit, does it work?


     
  2. abubin

    abubin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2019
    143
    70
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    How about some pictures to make it easier for us to visualize the question?
     
    Montgomery likes this.
  3. NewHybridOwner

    NewHybridOwner Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2018
    531
    245
    0
    Location:
    W. Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Wouldn't SAT be for Sirius/XM "satellite radio?" (Doesn't actually work without a subscription.)
     
  4. tamo3

    tamo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2021
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Thanks for your reply. I was newby so I could not upload photo nor linked to the image on the 1st post.
    OEM Radio unit has squre shape satellite radio antenna input. I don't want subscribe Sirius/XM. I want to use GPS for navigation instead.
    TOYOTA_Prius_OEM_Radio.jpg

    Since this Prius has a satellite radio antenna, I was wondering I can use it for GPS using an adapter.
    Screen Shot 2021-08-21 at 2.09.32 PM.png
     
  5. tamo3

    tamo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2021
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I just use GPS antenna comes with this head unit.
    Finally., installed.
    IMG_6042.jpg
    It's very nice screen.

    In order to install this, I need to modify the frame a bit.
    This head unit is kinda detached screen.
    IMG_6043.jpg


    IMG_6068.jpg
    It hitting the side of the frame. I need to cut it out.
    IMG_6069.jpg
     
  6. tamo3

    tamo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2021
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    After installation, I have some tries and errors. KEY needs to connect CANBUS IN. It was preconnected CANBUS OUT to CANBUS IN. After reconnect cable, I can successfully program the steering wheel button control.
    canbus_in_out.jpg
     
  7. tamo3

    tamo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2021
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Sound was horrible.
    I follow this instruction, but it does not help with my JBL system.
    Headunit upgrade with JBL | PriusChat

    I chat with JY support on AliExpress, and they gave new firmaware for this head unit.
    Old System Info.
    SystemInfo.jpg

    New Firmware
    AfterSystemUpdated.jpg
     
  8. tamo3

    tamo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2021
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    This new firmware fixed the sound quality issue.
    I'm so happy with this head unit.
     
    privilege likes this.
  9. priusFour

    priusFour New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2021
    5
    0
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I am thinking about this Radio.

    Just Wondering if the factory Backup Camera work or did you install the camera that you bought from Joying
    AHD Reverse Camera + $23.00

    just Curious to know, my prius is 2014 Four with JBL Thanks
     
  10. tamo3

    tamo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2021
    7
    1
    0
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    My prius did not have backup camera. I installed backup camera purchased from ebay.
     
  11. Evoking

    Evoking Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    89
    16
    0
    Location:
    Pomona
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I have a 2010 Prius and I installed a android head unit using my jbl stock system also I was able to use my factory reverse camera without cutting my cables.
     
  12. NewHybridOwner

    NewHybridOwner Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2018
    531
    245
    0
    Location:
    W. Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    What Android head unit did you install?
     
  13. Evoking

    Evoking Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    89
    16
    0
    Location:
    Pomona
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I went with seicane and I love it. It has built in CarPlay Netflix YouTube ect.
     
  14. howardc64

    howardc64 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    86
    36
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have a similar head unit and cutting is unnecessary. The key are as follows

    - Original Prius radio bracket (remove from original radio and install in car) prevents the andriod HU from sinking down. HU not attached to the bracket but HU width is same as double din its included bezel will sit on original radio bracket.

    - Install the start button cover plate. This goes over the loop cut out in this post

    - Then install the cover with km/mi and clock buttons. Need to fiddle around a little but this trim snapped together (not completely firm) with the HU bezel sandwiching the start button cover.
     
  15. NewHybridOwner

    NewHybridOwner Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2018
    531
    245
    0
    Location:
    W. Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I looked at the seicane Web site, and their model-year selector jumps from 2013 to 2016. Strange.
     
  16. Evoking

    Evoking Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    89
    16
    0
    Location:
    Pomona
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Mine says 2009 to 2013 but I absolutely love mines and it sounds amazing but then again I got the jbl system and I upgraded my dash speakers and added a subwoofer that sits inside the spare tire and wow amazing.
     
  17. Robolord

    Robolord Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I also put in a Joying and found the audio quality to be extremely lacking. The volume is much too low. Do you know what the new firmware changed to improve it? Like is the output power increased somehow?
     
  18. prius2010II

    prius2010II Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    255
    19
    0
    Location:
    us
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Poster you quoted has a factory JBL system. Pretty sure firmware was to properly use the amp. I have a different unit I have an external canbus adapter. There is a menu option on my HU to use factory amp
    Do you have the jbl system? Contact your vendor. You might need a canbus adapter, new firmware or new cable
     
  19. Robolord

    Robolord Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    12
    0
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    A couple of things about the Joying and the factory JBL system: It doesn’t really work together, at least mine didn’t. Initially, I thought the problem was a lack of communication between the Joying and the JBL DSP/Amp, since all sound is processed in the amp and the Joying can’t really speak that language. Well it turns out this isn’t entirely correct. Out of desperation, I replaced the factory amp with a different 45w/channel amp and it was still too quiet! Almost the same as the factory.

    I began to suspect that the voltage was too low on the Joying’s line level RCA outputs so I changed to the speaker level output, since my new amp accepted them. Boom. Problem solved. Sounds great now.

    If anyone is reading this and wants to use the Joying (or probably most any Chinese Android HU) with the factory JBL amp, you’ll need to get a “line driver”, like the AudioControl LC1i, or something similar to increase the line output voltage. The Joying DAC just sucks.
     
    #19 Robolord, Jan 10, 2022
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2022
Loading...