inverter replacement problem

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by dhartzell, Jul 10, 2018.

  1. dhartzell

    dhartzell New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    Port Matilda, PA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    New to this chat stuff. I have a 2005 Prius with 164000 miles on her. I replaced the hybrid battery 3 months ago
    with a rebuilt from green Bean. All was well for a month and a half and then the car threw all the warning lights and would not start after I turned it off. Towed to Toyota dealer and was told now the inverter was bad. I replaced it last weekend with a salvage one that had only 55000 miles on it. After some work putting the next one in and replacing the coolant I tried it and all the same warning lights came up and it won't ready. Did I forget a step or do you think I just bought another bad inverter ? I have about a month left on the warranty to return it to the salvage yard. Any ideas? The coolant pump is working fine and I bled the air out.
     
  2. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    6,766
    2,613
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    You must be able to pull all the codes the car is throwing yourself. If not you will always be at the dealers mercy. Thats not necessary as you have DIY skills since you replaced the Inverter yourself. There are a few OBD Hybrid Capable Code readers out there pretty cheap.

    Whatever code reader you get it must have Toyota Techstream software on board or it may not harvest all hybrid codes.

    An android app for an android phone called Torque. But no TS.
    There's the Mini VCI on amazon that's very cheap $25 but sometimes tricky to install the software. Need a laptop. It has TS.
    There's the VXDIAG on Amazon for $77 that has TS. Need a laptop.
     
    ITBland and Raytheeagle like this.
  3. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    3,721
    2,411
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    If you have amdroid phobe/tablet, you could also buy
    - ELM 327 OBDII Bluetooth adaptor
    - Torque Pro app
    Cost less than $25.
    You'll be able to read and clear codes as well as see some hybrid specific data.
    Not as feature filled as Techstrem, but helpful for the basics.
     
  4. Petrodollar

    Petrodollar Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2018
    53
    31
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    There are two types of diagnostic devices to consider, an SAE J2534 interface and an OBD-II reader.
    To use Toyota Techstream software, you need a device called an SAE J2534 interface or pass-through. Techstream gives you complete scanning and programming functionality. Techstream software is Windows only, thus the need for a Windows notebook PC.
    For general code reading, you need a device called an OBD-II reader. OBD-II readers do not do programming.
    They both use the OBD-II connector in your car, but have completely different command sets.

    See this thread for details.
    OBD-II and SAE J2534 Tools List for PC, Smartphone, Tablet; Toyota centric, July 2018
    https://priuschat.com/threads/obd-ii-and-sae-j2534-tools-list-for-pc-smartphone-tablet-toyota-centric-july-2018.197750

    SAE J2534 interface devices are in section I.
    Toyota provides the MongoosePro Toyota 2 MFC2 from Drew Technologies, number 2, in their Techstream LITE Kit, number 1, but they are expensive ($500 alone or $1345 for the kit of device + 1 Yr. subscription of software).

    For a low cost SAE J2534 device, look at a Mini VCI, number 5 ($35) or 6 ($50).
    For a little higher cost, look at the VXDIAG VCX NANO series, numbers 3 and 4 ($80 - $240).
    (These come with the appropriate software).

    For OBD-II readers, keep in mind that Wi-Fi versions are often easier to get working with an iOS device while Bluetooth will generally work with Android, although there are a few Bluetooth devices listed as working with iOS. Software for iOS is more limited.

    Avoid the cheap ELM327 clones.
    Devices listed as non-ELM, will not run the common ELM apps such as Torque Pro and Hybrid Assistant.

    OBD-II readers are in section II.
    OBDLink LX and MX Bluetooth devices are highly recommended, number 1 ($50 and $80). They work with the Torque Pro and Hybrid Assistant Android apps ($5 and $0).
    ELM-327.EU ELM327 Bluetooth uses the genuine ELM327 v2.2 IC and is also highly recommended, number 2 ($57).

    For iOS, look at -
    OBDLink MX Wi-Fi, number 1 ($130)
    ELM-327.EU ELMINO WiFi, number 2 ($64)
    PLX Kiwi 3, Bluetooth 4.1, number 5 ($100)
    K Solution LELink^2, Bluetooth 4.0, number 6 ($35)

    Software is in section III.
    Torque Pro, number 3 ($5) and Hybrid Assistant, number 4 ($0), both for Android, are very popular.
    Torque Pro has a custom PID editor.

    For iOS, look at -
    OBD Fusion, number 5 ($10), can create custom enhanced PIDs, Toyota Enhanced Diagnostics Add-on ($10)
    OBD Auto Doctor Pro for iPhone, number 6 ($23)
    OBD Car Doctor Pro, number 7 ($4)
    Car Scanner Pro, number 8 ($6), has custom (extended) sensors (PIDs) support for manufacturer specific data - unlimited active custom PIDs
     
    #4 Petrodollar, Jul 11, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2018
    douglasjre likes this.
  5. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    3,721
    2,411
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Do the iOS apps come preoaded with prius hybrid specific codes like state of charge, battery block voltage, etc?

    I know torque for android has it available, you just need to press a button to make them active.
     
  6. Petrodollar

    Petrodollar Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2018
    53
    31
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    I'm not sure, but I quoted some web pages below. I listed the iOS devices and software because I've seen several threads with people asking about it. Most devices in my list have links to their sites where someone could ask about hybrid codes or if the software is capable of adding custom Parameter IDs (PIDs) so they could be added.

    OBD Fusion for iOS ($10) says the following:
    "Settings are available directly in OBD Fusion. You can easily change adapter configurations, create your own PIDs, and edit your vehicle information." and
    "Create custom enhanced PIDs"
    There is also an add-on called Toyota Enhanced Diagnostics Add-on for in-app purchase of $10.

    Car Scanner Pro for iOS ($6) says:
    "Custom (extended) sensors (PIDs) support for manufacturer specific data - unlimited active custom PIDs"

    Torque Pro ($5) has a custom PID editor which allows adding PIDs, which I assume is how it got support for the Prius.
     
    #6 Petrodollar, Jul 11, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2018
  7. ericbecky

    ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    3,721
    2,411
    1
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    For me, often customers are not comfortable adding custom pids. It adds an additional layer of complexity that many people do not want to attempt. Hoping to hear of an iOS app that has it preinstalled, or even just a quick option to activate hybrid specific data.
     
  8. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    1,130
    1,212
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Could be a number of things.

    Without knowing which codes are logged, it would be hard to say what the exact problem might be or where to look next.

    Did you actually pay the Toyota dealer for the vehicle inspection/diagnostics, if so they should've provided paperwork with the needed DTC/INF code(s) that support their repair estimate.

    Please post any known codes (DTC's) and any subcodes (INF's) for further help, without these codes you are wasting time (labor) and money (parts) without making much progress.

    While waiting for codes... have you already physically removed and inspected each individual fuse/link. Though a long shot (since you said the inverter coolant pump is working), make sure you check the AM2 fuse.
     
  9. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    12,883
    5,362
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Did you lock the orange interlock properly on the hv battery? Flip up and then push down to lock. Double check this item

    Then reset your car by disconnecting the 12v negative for a minute. Try to start
     
  10. dhartzell

    dhartzell New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    Port Matilda, PA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Thanks for the replies gang. The original set of codes from Toyota were fault POAA6 info codes 526 and 614. I did check AM2 fuse and it was fine. Now the opps question. Was I supposed to pull the interlock on the battery? I disconnected the neg. side of the 12v and did the orange lines in the inverter with rubber gloves on. Did I screw something up that way? Im getting my local garage to pull codes tomorrow since the car won't ready they'll come to my house.
     
  11. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    6,766
    2,613
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Wow with battery safety interlock still installed those orange cables had 230 volts on them. They were hot.

    You missed the most important step of the whole process. Really lucky you didn’t get electrocuted.
     
  12. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    12,883
    5,362
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I think if you pulled the 12v negative, you should be pretty safe. The danger of leaving the orange interlock in place is if the car accidentally powered on, you could potentially get electrocuted.

    Strange you get the same error after inverter replacement. That should have solved the ground fault info 614.
     
  13. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    1,130
    1,212
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
  14. dhartzell

    dhartzell New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    Port Matilda, PA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Thanks guys for thinking I survived a terrible mistake but my gloves were electrical insulated gloves. No problems no sparks. Any way those codes were from the first time I took it to Toyota garage . I also found out its very easy to use that safety interlock.I think i'll open it up again and check the connections tomorrow. Maybe the cover switch is not making connection?
     
  15. dhartzell

    dhartzell New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2018
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    Port Matilda, PA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Well guys, it was the cover switch. I bent a prong putting it in without taking the wiper assembly off. Now removed all that and that made assembling it back together a breeze. Now the car did ready but a separate set of warning lights for the ABS and brake came on. The car hasn't been driven in 2 months , do you think I should put it back together and try it?
     
  16. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    1,130
    1,212
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Harvest the new DTCs (with supported INFs) and post them here.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
Loading...