1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

New guy, big problem. Led headlights were swapped!

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by bellman25, Oct 13, 2017.

1. bellman25

bellman25 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Good day to all. I’m new here and new to hybrids. For that matter I’m new to Toyota’s. I decided to get something practical and with good gas mileage. Enter the 2011 Prius. Clean, low miles, still has battery warranty...great price. Was in a small accident but no structural damage only cosmetic stuff. I plan to keep until it dies so I went for it. Whelp....first night I drove it (usually don’t drive at night) the check headlight system alert and triangle appeared. Long story short...the headlights were originally LED but changed to halogen after the accident. Soooo the alert is popping up. I have no idea how to fix. I was up all night searching forums and googling and I’m truely stuck. The small side dealer I got it from is no help as I expected. If I don’t turn the lights on no error. If I turn only the parking lights on, no error. The minute i turn on the headlights...BOOM. I tried unplugging the leveling sensor from the rear, also the ecu from behind he glove box. Didn’t matter. Anyone have any suggestions? I looked at used LED lights and they are 300-400 a side used.

2. David Beale

David Beale Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Seek legal help. The "small side dealer" is responsible and should be held legally liable to fix it correctly.

Montgomery likes this.
  3. bellman25

bellman25 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Absolutely true. However the cost of the lawyer and time off work etc would probably nullify any potential win. I’m sure there has to be a way to get this to work. I mean everything “works” just the error message and triangle pops up and stays lit like a Xmas tree.

4. CNYhybrid

CNYhybrid Member