1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Oil change for 2017 leftover

Discussion in 'Prime Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by little_green_man, May 22, 2018.

1. little_green_man

little_green_man Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Hi everyone
    Just picked up a 2017 prime advanced leftover. The car was delivered to the dealer in august 2017. The car has been sitting on the lot for 9 months. So my question is when does the oil change clock start clicking, today as the dealer and toyota claim or from the date of delivery to the dealer
    The interval is 12 months so i am wondering 12 months from when

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i would do it now due to condensation, but i'm no expert. maybe not the filter.

3. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Our 2010 sat (new) on dealership lot(s) for 15 months, and I just did the first change at the Canadian spec'd interval, 8000 kms or 6 months. 8000 kms governed, last time for that, lol.

I can't see changing oil that's basically sat, for 15 months, on a car that has maybe 15 kms. I think it would look (and perform) identical to the day it went in.

bisco likes this.
  4. burnout8488

burnout8488 Member

Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Model:
    N/A
    Drive it on gas for a half hour to burn off any moisture in the crankcase. Oil doesn't degrade with age from sitting on the lot, it's already a few million years old. :)

There is no reason to change it and your vehicle won't benefit from it in the long-term.

Andyprius1, orenji and heiwa like this.
  5. FuelMiser

FuelMiser Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Touring