1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

P0A80 and P3011, faulty module on a 2 yr Dorman battery

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Stevalasvegas, Apr 20, 2022.

1. Stevalasvegas

Stevalasvegas New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hello, it's my first time posting here but have been browsing around this site frequently to troubleshoot several issues. I bought a 06 prius a couple of months ago, and just a few days ago, I'm seeing the red triangle, P0A80 and P3011 codes. On Dr. Prius, I see that module #1 is busted, attached the screenshot as well.

The thing is, the hybrid battery was replaced 2 years ago and has 6k miles on it. I was thinking about replacing the module, but used ones on hybridautomative and ebay have modules used for 80k+ miles but then again, might face a problem with the module in the future since the rest are new and this is old. Do I even have to replace the module considering the age of the battery; can I instead just charge this module or would rebalancing the battery work?

I was thinking of trying out charging the battery in this guide. Also read here that Dorman batteries usually can have some modules fail once in a while.

Attached Files:

2. SFO

SFO Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Welcome to PriusChat!!
    Was that a new HV battery from the dealer, or just a set of used mismatched modules slapped together with a 30/30 warranty?

6K miles in 2 years isn't very much, and a new OEM battery would be able to handle that. Do you park in the sun with the windows up?

FYI : you're moderated until you've posted 5 times.

3. Stevalasvegas

Stevalasvegas New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II