1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Question about a potential purchase- 2013 Prius v

Discussion in 'Prius v Main Forum' started by COclimber, Mar 28, 2017.

1. COclimber

COclimber New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Hi all,

I am a total newbie when it comes to the Prius. I am seriously considering buying a 2013 Prius v that I came across recently,for sale at a non-Toyota dealership. It has about 53,000 miles on it, which seems low for the car's age. Here's the thing: at the dealership, the car wouldn't start! The salesperson (who, I tnink, knows little to nothing about hybrids) said that the battery was likely dead. Here's my question: would the car not starting mean that the problem is in the small, 12v battery? If so, that seems like an easy fix. But could that indicate problems with the traction battery? The low mileage makes me wonder if the traction battery could have problems because maybe the car wasn't driven as often as would be ideal. Any thoughts on what I should be thinking about or asking about when negotiating for this car would be really helpful. Thanks in advance!

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!

yes, it would be the 12v. they are small and weak, and die quickly if not charged frequently. they cost $150. to $200. plus install.
    the hybrid battery should be fine. i have 50,000 miles on my 2012.
    all the best!(y)

Montgomery and COclimber like this.
  3. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    While the 12 volt battery sure sounds dead, you won't know how healthy the big battery is until they fix the 12 volt.

In CO , you have 4 more years and 47,000 miles more warranty on the big battery.

COclimber likes this.
  4. COclimber

COclimber New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three