Seeking suggestion for Android head unit (for 2012) plus camera

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by jmann, May 23, 2017.

  1. Robolord

    Robolord New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    iPhone guy again- So I'm thinking I could either add a LTE data line to my Verizon plan and stick a SIM card in the unit or turn on WiFi tethering on my phone to supply data to the head unit. Is that correct?
     
  2. JonathanJ

    JonathanJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    5
    0
    0
    Location:
    BE
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    @Robolord Indeed, should work. I have an extra SIM in the car right now. Only problem with it is that it makes some old fashioned "phone connecting noise" when I am having back coverage. Figured I need to make sure that the 4G antenna's are far enough away from the Head Unit. got to unmount the radio and correct that. Just a thought if you would install this yourself.

    Thethering should work too. Will try it next week. Actually, could you tether via USB on iPhone? That way you could charge your phone instead draining your battery with the WiFi hotspot.


    @Inza2: only 2 things that I've found not working are: AUX port in center module of the car and the voice icon on the steering wheel. Did you manage to get these to work? It's not a huge problem since I don't really have to use the AUX anymore, but it would be great to make everything work :)


    @others: by the way, yes, the unit starts in 33 sec, but the camera works immediately, even when Android isn't started yet.
     
  3. JonathanJ

    JonathanJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    5
    0
    0
    Location:
    BE
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Update: Did not get USB tethering to work but WiFi tethering worked fine. That should work for iPhone too.
     
  4. Inza2

    Inza2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    9
    14
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I did not try the AUX port, don't need it. I have the same issue with voice buttons on the steering wheel, did not manage to get them to work. But they also did not work with my stock radio.

    Did you manage to get the "mode" button to work? That's my last frustration....

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  5. Inza2

    Inza2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    9
    14
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Regarding the camera. It only works immediately if you install the aftermarket camera for this HU. I connected my OEM camera. This one will only display after full boot.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  6. tannerpace

    tannerpace New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    17
    1
    0
    Location:
    charleston
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Why is it only for 2009-2013? What headunit works for 2014?

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  7. kc5dlo

    kc5dlo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    63
    30
    0
    Location:
    DFW TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I have a 2014 and I am on my second android unit. Both said 2009-20013 in the description. Contact the sellers and they usually will answer the questions pretty fast.
     
  8. cgmpc

    cgmpc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    16
    2
    0
    Location:
    ?
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
  9. ja7777

    ja7777 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    14
    2
    0
    Location:
    cape town
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Hello, sorry, I posted this in another thread, but realized this is probably the best place to put it.

    I bought the same android stereo as you guys did.

    However, I have struggled with a couple things. And was wondering if you can help.

    First, After putting the stereo in, I am left with 2 empty plugs on the included wiring harness and with two of the factory plugs that were in the original stereo, left unplugged with no where to plug in. Did you have the same problem. The seller says that is normal. I don't get it. they must have been to something important. I have not been able to get the steering wheel controls to work with the swc settings, so I am thinking one might relate to that. I also haven't been able to get the usb/auxilary in the center console to work with it either. I copied the photo below. The bottom two plugs are the empty plugs from the included harness, the top two are the ones that are left out from the original factory stereo.

    2nd, did you get the backup camera with it? Coming out of the harness there are two wires that are loose with a cap on them. One says it is to backup detect. I am assuming i would connect this to the black/red wire on the video cable, is that correct? The other one is a red cable, I have no idea what it is for.

    Thanks for your help
    WhatsApp Image 2017-08-26 at 3.41.36 PM.jpeg
     
  10. cgmpc

    cgmpc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    16
    2
    0
    Location:
    ?
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Can you take a picture of the whole harness they sent you?
    Also, can you take a picture of each of the plugs coming out of your vehicle?
    What year and trim level car do you have?
     
  11. ja7777

    ja7777 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    14
    2
    0
    Location:
    cape town
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Thanks I was able to get help from the seller and got it all sorted out, except can't get the auxilary port in my center console to play. I am assuming it is the one remaining plug that doesn't fit anywhere.
     
  12. HaiImBrian

    HaiImBrian New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    15
    5
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I got the android head unit as well and love it so far! Running Waze and Spotify off of it is amazing with android wifi tether

    I was not able to get my left steering wheel controls to work though. Does anyone know where to put the Key1 and Key2 cables? What signals do I have to tap into?

    Please help!
     
Loading...