Start up Screen Image

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by Diddlywop, Jun 2, 2012.

  1. Diddlywop

    Diddlywop New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    30
    0
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    I have tried, unsuccessfully, to input the startup and shutdown screen image on my Advanced plugin. After following the manual instructions step by step over and over, I still get a failure notice.

    I then contacted Toyota customer service, who wrote back that I should follow the instructions in the manual if I am unsuccessful!

    Anyone have any hints?

    Thank you!
     
  2. seek

    seek Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    32
    6
    0
    Location:
    Tewksbury, MA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
  3. Diddlywop

    Diddlywop New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    30
    0
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    I got it to work! The missing piece of the puzzle is that you have to do it from Windows, and not a Mac.....don't ask me why, because it's only a JPEG, but it worked perfectly once I used a Windows computer to load the images on a USB!
     
  4. Diddlywop

    Diddlywop New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    30
    0
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Corrected update: I got the startup screen to work, but still haven't gotten the shut down screen to work.
     
  5. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    87,553
    38,973
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    what image did you load, your avatar?
     
  6. Diddlywop

    Diddlywop New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    30
    0
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    A picture of my son!
     
  7. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    87,553
    38,973
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
  8. GCPExit12

    GCPExit12 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    105
    32
    0
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    is changing the startup/shutdown image only possible on the advanced PiP?
     
  9. hdfixer

    hdfixer Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    6
    0
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    The second image upload isn't shown at shut down of the vehicle. It's when you want to shut off the interactive screen - as I recall go to settings/display and there is an option to shut off screen. It doesn't turn of the screen entirely, it instead displays the JPG you have selected. I grabbed a nice star field from Astronomy Picture of The Day: Astronomy Picture of the Day
     
  10. Diddlywop

    Diddlywop New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    30
    0
    0
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    Great...thank you!
     
  11. Kurt E Sanders

    Kurt E Sanders Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    36
    11
    0
    Location:
    Xenia, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Wow, mystery solved after 1 hour of tinkering. The USB drive must be formatted under WINDOWS as Fat32 (Not a Mac). Trust me, I tried all the various Mac format and image resizing, and it would not find the folders until I reformatted under Windows as Fat32 and used Explorer to transfer the images. Go Figure!
     
  12. davekro

    davekro Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    478
    65
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, East Bay
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    As asked earlier, does this picture to screen feature also work on PIP Base? Or just Advanced and V?
    Thank you
     
  13. Kurt E Sanders

    Kurt E Sanders Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    36
    11
    0
    Location:
    Xenia, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I believe just the Prius v with the ATP option (HDD Navigation System), from what I have read on other posts.
     
  14. davekro

    davekro Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    478
    65
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, East Bay
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Thanks Kurt.
     
  15. Astolat

    Astolat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    229
    73
    0
    Location:
    Guildford UK
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    N/A
    This sent me looking at the UK Touch and Go system's manual - as far as I can see there is no option for us to do this, unless anyone has found a hack. We can have the screen play a picture slideshow when parked, but that's all.
     
  16. Neil Lamka

    Neil Lamka New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    3
    0
    0
    Location:
    Port Ludlow, WA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    I assume I'm missing something. When I tried to upload either startup or screen off images I only get the 1st image in the folder to transfer. I have 3 images in the startup folder on my USB drive but only one is ever loaded. Is there some trick, some image names I need to use in addition to the folder name?
     
Loading...