Suggested OBDII Tool to Customize Options?

Discussion in 'Prime Accessories and Modifications' started by pianohawk, Jan 28, 2017.

?
  1. Reverse Signal (buzzer) when the shift position is in R

    87.7%
  2. Vehicle speed linked seat belt reminder buzzer

    36.9%
  3. Duration of automatic lane change signal flashers

    26.2%
  4. Vehicle Proximity Notification System (volume of sound)

    16.9%
  5. Time elapsed before unlock- ing all the door when gripping and holding the driver’s door handle

    10.8%
  6. Open door reminder buzzer (when locking the vehicle)

    13.8%
  7. Remote button “A/C” control customization

    20.0%
  8. Simple Advanced Parking Guidance System customizations

    9.2%
  9. Intuitive parking assist customizations

    10.8%
  10. Power window customizations

    33.8%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    643
    498
    41
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Ive only seen the red flash turn off and the adapter not responding after some time, if i leave it over night and try to connect to it via my phone it cant even find it, and the adapter doesnt start flashing until i take it in and out again.
     
  2. Insighter

    Insighter Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    409
    266
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    I just looked at your profile. You're talking about how the Carista functions on a 2011 Prius, right? I've got a 2017 Prime, so I'm guessing there is every chance that things would be different on the two cars as far as power to the OBD2 port goes.
     
  3. MagnusAG99

    MagnusAG99 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    643
    498
    41
    Location:
    Norway
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Why would they remove a feature like that tho? doesnt make sense, must be some EU and US differences. We r thinking of getting a 2018 Prius Plug in (its basically just a prime, its just re-badged here as the "plug in", which is retarded), but yea, if we buy a prime instead of a tesla model 3 or Volvo S60 i can check. I bet its EU and US differences tho.
     
  4. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,599
    2,146
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I also just received a ODBLink LX Friday and am using it with Hybrid Assistance, etc.. Very nice info gathering and the Hybrid reporter is great. I like it.

    I'm curious, are the extra PID's you purchased for the Prime worth it? I was not able to find a list of what they are.

    Note, I also purchased a Low Profile right angle flat ODBII ribbon 3 foot extension cable and a Ultra Low Profile Y splitter cable so I can also use my ScanGauge II simultaneously for real time Tire pressure/ temps, etc. The extension cable allows me to mount the ODBLink LX up near the steering wheel in plain view so it's easy to disconnect/reconnect/access. No more fumbling around under the dash on my knees on the concrete floor. Don't trust sleep mode, etc., just disconnect it. It's completely flat and does not protrude below the dash.

    I have one of these cables in all three of our Toyotas so I can quickly move the ScanGauge II or ODBLink LX between vehicles.
     
  5. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    5,159
    3,893
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    As stated in my previous message, I could not connect to Network B enhanced PID which include many of PRIME specific PID. So, extra $9.99 was totally waste of money for me. I never really pursued much after this initial failed attempt. Here is the list of PID supposed to be included in the extra. NOTE: I did not have problem connecting to Network A, but all PIDs in Network A are supposed to be included in the default generic PID that came free with the purchase of ODBII LX. The screen shot #3 are showing scrolled down area not shown in #2 for Network B.
    Screenshot_20180909-140820.png Screenshot_20180909-135915.png Screenshot_20180909-135925.png

    That's a great idea. I don't have ScanGauge II, but would be nice to be able to use both sets at the same time. Or can you? Maybe you can connect only one at a time even with Y splitter? I was primarily interested in seeing real time TPMS information by TireAssistant app, but it can not display information while the car is in motion making it's utility much less than I was hoping for. I might have asked this before, but does ScanGauge display real time TPMS information while car is in mortion? I recently installed this external TPMS sensors and display, it works far better than dummy TPMS inside of tires.
    IMG_20180830_174304.jpg
     
    #65 Salamander_King, Sep 9, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2018
    Tyfly and Mark57 like this.
  6. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,599
    2,146
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Thanks for the list! I'll have to think about adding it or not since I have the advanced.

    Yes, the ScanGauge II can watch the tire temps or pressures in real time moving or stopped. The ScanGuage does not care about moving or not. They just recently added the tire PIDS ability for the Prime. You can only see 4 pids at a time so I watch temps or pressure but not both. If I'm offroading in the 4Runner with tires aired down, I watch temps. If I'm on a highway trip in the Prime, I watch temps. It's a faster real time problem indicator than pressure. It's amazing which tires run hotter than others on the vehicle.

    I can use either the ScanGauge II and or the ODBLink LX individually or both at the same time with the Y cable or just normally.

    On Amazon

    Ultra Low Profile Left or Right Angle OBD II 2 Y Splitter Cable 30cm/12"
    or
    Diageng Low Profile Right/Left Angle OBD 2 II Extension with Flat Ribbon Cable 3'/1m
     
    #66 Mark57, Sep 9, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2018
  7. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    5,159
    3,893
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    If you add enhanced PIDs, let me know if it connects to Network B using your OBDII LX on Prime Advanced. It maybe specific to Advanced model and not for Premium. Though that's strange some of modules like TPMS, Front Recognition Camera, Smart Key are all in common with lower trims.

    Thanks for the link to amazon for the extension cable and splitter. I will have to buy ScanGauge first.
     
  8. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,599
    2,146
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I'll let you know if I decide to add the PIDs.

    Note, if you do decide to buy a ScanGauge II direct from them, be sure to ask them to add the Prius Prime specific TPMS PIDs for you. That way you don't have to type them in yourself which is a bit of a pain.
     
    #68 Mark57, Sep 9, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2018
    Salamander_King likes this.
  9. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,599
    2,146
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Once advantage your TPMS system has is you can easily control and tell which sensor is on which tire to match your display unit. The ScanGauge and Tire Assistant just read the sensors it can see. You can work out which ones are which tires but you'd have to remember that when rotating, etc.

    I've been out testing the Hybrid Assistant and Hybrid Reporter for two days now. These two free apps are absolutely awesome. I'm seriously impressed with the info the reporter can pull out.
     
  10. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    5,159
    3,893
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Yap, I found out that after I had my tires rotated at dealer. The diagram show in the Tire Assistant did not change the location of corresponding ID. I really wish Toyota will come to sense to put the tire information soon on all the vehicle along with automatic registration of new set of TPMS ID.
     
  11. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,599
    2,146
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Just another little detail that I also wish they'd followed through on. All in all a great car but it could have been so much more. Heck, they may have even advertised it then.;)
     
  12. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    5,159
    3,893
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    I was just reading 2018 Leaf manual. It seems, Leaf has similar dumb TPMS warning light. Not a deal breaker, but I had a hope for Nissan, for Maxima I rented a few years ago had tire pressure information displayed prominently on the Vehicle information display.
     
  13. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,599
    2,146
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Seems like I remember one or two Toyotas do as well, but I can't remember which ones. I remember being surprised when I saw it.
     
  14. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    5,159
    3,893
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    I just checked Honda Clarity Plug-in manual for its TPMS function. They decided to use indirect tire pressure monitor system, so there are no TPMS sensors inside of tires. This eliminate need to register TPMS ID each time wheels are switched, but have no way to display actual tire pressure information of each tires. My older Civic Hybrid had dumb TPMS with sensors similar to Prius, and for 10 years of ownership, only repair I had to spend substantial money on this car has been TPMS sensor replacement @$200/tire.:mad:
     
  15. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,599
    2,146
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Holy cow!!! That's amazing, $200!
     
  16. Flaming

    Flaming Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    125
    96
    0
    Location:
    QC , Canada
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    i use a ODBLink LX with the android app Tire Assitant

    Tire Assistant
    Tire Assistant - Apps on Google Play

    it show tire pressure and temperature - works only when the car is stopped.

    For the initial setup , I inflate or deflate my tires at 4 different pressure on purpose so when i start the app i can see and move each tire icon at the correct ''physical'' location .. when done i correct the pressure in each tire and . im ready to go .. until tire rotations or something like that.
     
    padroo, Mark57 and Salamander_King like this.
  17. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    5,159
    3,893
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Yap, it was my first ever car with direct TPMS sensor inside of tire, and I didn't know better. I thought I had to take the car back to a dealer to have the TPMS ID registered to the car. The cost included the dealer labor, but four TPMS did not fail at the same time, so I had to pay labor for each, costing me $800 total. Then finally, I found out on the 5th time I had to replace TPMS, I could just use ANY local tire shop, and they would do it with aftermarket TPMS for $50 parts and labor. Then recently, I found out that I didn't even have fix TPMS to begin with. It is perfectly legal in my state to drive a car with nonfunctional TPMS.:(

    I have it, and used it, but I wanted to see actual tire pressure and temperature while car is in motion. Bought one of cheap external TPMS at Amazon, for $50. Not the best looking device, but I don't care, it's functionality is 100 times better than very expensive, very hard to manage dumb TPMS that came with the car. If it last more than 1 year, I know it is way cheaper than replacing internal TPMS that shows no information whatsoever.

    IMG_20180830_175002.jpg
     
    #77 Salamander_King, Sep 10, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2018
    Mark57 likes this.
  18. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,599
    2,146
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I do the same process with my ScanGauge II. As long as I don't forget to change my note on rotations, it is easy to maintain. It gets more complicated when I move my ScanGauge between our 3 vehicles. ;)
     
  19. Landon51

    Landon51 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    153
    56
    0
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    In order to reach Network B, I think you need a giraffe.

    giraffe (Toyota) | comma.ai shop

    If you're feeling exceptionally grateful if take both a giraffe and a panda and be eternally grateful.

    And after this body dies, if I'm not still grateful, I would give them right back.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    priuscatprimeguy likes this.
  20. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    5,159
    3,893
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Giraffe and Panda??? or Giraffe on Panda... lol
    giraffe and panda.jpg
     
    benagi and priuscatprimeguy like this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - Suggested OBDII Tool
  1. Patrick McMillan
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    766