System Not installed Error!

Discussion in 'Prius v Audio and Electronics' started by vw4motion, Sep 12, 2017.

  1. vw4motion

    vw4motion New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017
    8
    1
    0
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    III
    Just last week, I get "System not installed error" when I press the "Apps" button on my 2013 Prius V three. I also noticed sometime ago that USB port is not charging phones any longer (no power). Moreover, radio would randomly restart during driving. USB/Radio restart issues were there for longer, but system not installed error is new major issue (there may be bluetooth issue too but need to test it out).

    Any thoughts? Head unit went bad or I can somehow fix this on my own? Wonder what dealer would say as I did not take the car in yet.

    Many thanks - please offer any advise you may have.
     
  2. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    2,099
    357
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Did you recently do an Entune firmware update? If not, how about trying one.
     
  3. vw4motion

    vw4motion New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017
    8
    1
    0
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    III
    I have not performed any updates since I bought the car. How do I make an update for Entune firmware? USB port is not charging phones any longer - not sure of a mechanism to update Entune. Please advise.
     
  4. Sooner Al

    Sooner Al Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    276
    226
    0
    Location:
    Norman, Oklahoma
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
  5. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    2,099
    357
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    If the USB is not powered, chances are it won't pass data either. Anyone know whether the USB port is fused to the AUX power? You would need USB connectivity to do the Entune update, and I suspect that also means a need for power connectivity.
     
Loading...