1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Toyota Certified Prius v tires question

Discussion in 'Prius v Main Forum' started by KaZam, Dec 18, 2016.

1. KaZam

KaZam Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I'm a newbie here.
    We (my wife and I) just bought (within the past month and a half) a 2014 Prius v wagon from our Toyota Certified Used dealer, with only 24,000 miles on it. (Lease return after 3 years.)
    First of all, let me say we are very pleased with the car so far. I had a question about the tires, however, and wondered if anyone here might be able to help, or have any suggestions.
    Even though the car had only 24,000 miles on it, it came with a brand new set of Yokohama AVID Envigor tires (215/50R17 95V). (V rating: up to 149 mph. Even though the car won't go anywhere near that fast!) ;-)
    (This is actually one of the reasons I bought the car.) These tires were brand new (and I mean REALLY brand new - the little rubber threads from the molding process were still sticking up from the tread! I have photos...) And the salesperson told us that they were new tires, and that they had installed them there at Toyota.
    In the glove compartment was a warranty brochure for the tires, -or so I thought. Upon closer look, the warranty flyer was for Toyo tires, and I realized that this was most likely left over from the original OEM tires that came installed on the car when it was first sold new. (They just hadn't had a chance to clean out the glove compartment.)
    I looked up these Yokohama Envigor tires on the web, and it looks like they normally come with a 5-year or 60,000 mile warranty when you buy them from a normal "authorized" tire dealer. Plus free replacement for first year or 2/32" of wear, etc.