1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Wanting to buy, but what to ask?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by cactusandkale, Aug 21, 2018.

1. cactusandkale

cactusandkale New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi all!

My husband and I have been sharing a 2003 Toyota Corolla for 3 years, in which we’ve put around 80k miles on. Due to an accident, we’re looking for a new vehicle and want to replace it with a Prii if at all possible. I've read through a handful of threads, and feel somewhat confident in our decision to go with an early Gen II. I found an '07 with 159k+ miles, one owner, one accident (appears to be minor cosmetic damage). I've read through the CarFax and everything seemed clean. I know that at some point I'll have to replace the big items (battery, etc). But are there certain questions I should ask a dealership/seller about the car?

Or should I adhere to the "buy the youngest model I can afford"? I don't mind getting my hands dirty, and I have a friend who knows someone who does Prius work.

Thanks!

bisco likes this.
  2. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    You're gonna love the Prius... It does all kinds of cool stuff to entertain the minds of people who are ok with getting their hands dirty.

If I could do it all over again, I'd buy from a private seller because Prius reliability is awesome. If you still want to buy from a car dealer, don't buy any of their garbage warranty. It's almost never worth the extra money!

Here's a really long thread I posted that will answer any other questions you might have: Did you buy a Prius with 100K+ miles? Share your story here! | PriusChat

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    get a carfax and plug the vin into the toyota owners site for service details.