1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Warning lights (detailed description of problems, lengthy)

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Cory Potrafka, Feb 27, 2016.

1. Cory Potrafka

Cory Potrafka Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Desperately need help! I work weekends 4 hours away from home and live WAY out in the sticks, my Prius is my life line! I am not a mechanic but am extremely competent at fixing pretty much anything after exhaustive research. I have always fixed my own cars and am not afraid to tackle any job excepting those that have absolutely NO work around to using tools that are out of my price range. My weak point is often with diagnosing a problem, once I know whats wrong, I will fix it. It will take me ten times as long as a professional but the job will be done right when I'm done. I am patient, diligent, thorough and spend even more time researching than I do repairing. Below is as comprehensive of an explanation as I can give but feel free to ask for any additional information. I apologize for the length but I have noticed that questions like "my red triangle light is on. Whats wrong with my car and how do I fix it" are not able to be answered (obviously).

When it occurred: 25 minute trip through a lot of curves and up and down hills during an episode of DWPO (driving while pissed off). I wasn't squealing tires around corners or anything but definitely taking uphill climbs and corners much more aggressively than usual (I live in the mountainous country of south western VA and usually I take the uphills well below speed limit so as to not dog out my car). Definitely gave my motors, brakes, and suspension system a workout that it was not used to.