Will ScanGauge II work correctly in Prime?

Discussion in 'Prime Main Forum (2017-Current)' started by dafinn, Dec 12, 2017.

  1. dafinn

    dafinn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    34
    4
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I presently have a much beloved Prius Gen II and finally I hear Toyota will be selling them in British Columbia as of January, more that a year after introduction. I have put a deposit down for a 2018 Prime Technology and wonder if the ScanGauge II that I presently have in the 2009 Prius will work correctly in the new Prime. Anyone have knowledge of this?
    Maybe there are dashboard features that would make the ScanGauge unnecessary now.
     
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    85,470
    37,679
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    congrats!
    at this point in time, i think not, but i'm sure it will, hopefully by the time your prime arrives.
     
  3. Skylis A

    Skylis A Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    1,144
    855
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Mine works, but I can't get it to turn itself off properly... I can get it sleep once the car is off, but it then it will also sometimes turn off while traveling like normal on electric only. Alternatively, I can get it to stay on even when the car is electric, but then it won't turn off after I turn the car off.
     
    bisco likes this.
  4. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    85,470
    37,679
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    thanks, maybe i'm remembering black market tech stream.
     
    priuscatprimeguy likes this.
  5. priuscatprimeguy

    priuscatprimeguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    2,730
    2,625
    0
    Location:
    Farmington Hills, Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    you're probably right, I have that black market techstream, The latest Prius it will go to is 2013 PIP:cry:
     
    bisco likes this.
  6. bwilson4web

    bwilson4web i3 and Prime

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    23,003
    12,875
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL with 2014 BMW i3-REx
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    They updated the version to 4.50EF and you will need the Prius Prime fix. Ask them for the tire pressure Xgagues.

    Bob Wilson
     
    Lucifer likes this.
  7. dafinn

    dafinn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    34
    4
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Four
     
  8. dafinn

    dafinn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    34
    4
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    whoops - pressed reply before I started to reply! Thanks guys. I think I will just remove the ScanGauge from the 2009 before I sell it and see what it will do in the Prime. I am thinking that the ScanGauge may not even be needed if the features on the Prime display give me the equivalent read outs that I like. I mainly used the ScanGauge to determine exact engine on/off cycles which were not exact on the 2009 display and also to keep ongoing miles/gal read outs while on a different screen in the 2009.
     
    Prodigyplace likes this.
  9. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    10,686
    10,181
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Check out this thread. I think they are offering free upgrades until end of year. It is sent in to a particular person's attention, IIRC.

    EDIT: I just realized it is USA only. Sorry. :(
     
  10. Skylis A

    Skylis A Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    1,144
    855
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Side question
    Would this update also know to tell the ScanGauge to go to sleep when I turn off my Prime? Or would it just stay on anyway if I use HYBRID comm mode as it does currently? I have something like version 4.2-ish...I'll check again later
     
  11. bwilson4web

    bwilson4web i3 and Prime

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    23,003
    12,875
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL with 2014 BMW i3-REx
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    It fixes the "COM" mode which works perfectly. I was using "VOLT" but it was marginal as it would sleep while driving.

    Bob Wilson
     
    Linear Logic and Skylis A like this.
  12. Skylis A

    Skylis A Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    1,144
    855
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Just checked I currently have 4.42 by LinearLogic.
     
  13. bwilson4web

    bwilson4web i3 and Prime

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    23,003
    12,875
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL with 2014 BMW i3-REx
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Just make sure you get the software upgrade and also the Prius Prime 'sleep' fix. I would recommend asking for the tire pressure Xgauges.

    Bob Wilson
     
    Linear Logic and Prodigyplace like this.
  14. Linear Logic

    Linear Logic Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    14
    38
    0
    Location:
    Mesa
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi All,

    This is James DeLong, and I'm one of the engineers that works on the ScanGauge. As
    bwilson4web has stated, we do have a new firmware that appears to fix the sleep issue it had on the Prius Prime. Anyone who has a ScanGauge and a Prius Prime can send it in for a free update since it's to address a bug. Just sent it to:

    Linear Logic LLC
    ATTN: James DeLong
    2222 S. Dobson Rd
    STE 800
    Mesa, AZ 85202

    Just include a note indicating that you have a Prius Prime and we'll update it to the latest firmware. We also have XGauges for the individual tire pressure/temperatures which we can pre-load as well, so if you'd like that just include that in the note as well.

    Anyone outside the United States that needs this update can message me directly here and we'll work out a way to get the update to you.

    If anyone has any questions, just let me know!
     
    Mendel Leisk, royrose, KK6PD and 5 others like this.
  15. bwilson4web

    bwilson4web i3 and Prime

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    23,003
    12,875
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL with 2014 BMW i3-REx
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Any possibility of a future, flash memory recording and dump?

    Then we could stop having to video the display and enter the data from the four fields.

    Bob Wilson
     
  16. priuscatprimeguy

    priuscatprimeguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    2,730
    2,625
    0
    Location:
    Farmington Hills, Michigan
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    James DeLong, I have just ordered a new ScanGuage 11 since I can't find my original ScanGuage that I had for my old 2012 PIP. when I receive it from Amazon I will ship it out to you for the update.
     
  17. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,605
    2,159
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Hi James. Good to see you n the forum.
    The main thread for the ScanGauge TPMS updates is here. You might make a post there for the non-USA folks and others looking for info.
     
  18. Linear Logic

    Linear Logic Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    14
    38
    0
    Location:
    Mesa
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    N/A
    It's not possible with the current hardware, but if/when we update the hardware in the future it's something we'd like to add if possible.

    Sounds good! If you mark it to my attention (James DeLong) it will get directly to me. I try to have units updated and on their way back the day they arrive.

    I'll be sure to do that.

    Finally, I plan on working on XGauges for the Prius Prime in the near future, and I'm curious to hear if there are any specific gauges that may be useful to monitor with the ScanGauge on the Prius Prime. I'm happy to hear any suggestions and I'll do my best to see if they're possible.
     
    priuscatprimeguy likes this.
  19. bwilson4web

    bwilson4web i3 and Prime

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    23,003
    12,875
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL with 2014 BMW i3-REx
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Remember you asked:
    TOTAL ENERGY
    1. engine power - very difficult because rpm and torque need to be captured and a calculation. Either HP or kW works for me. In effect numbers for the power-flow display to and from engine.
    2. traction battery power - hopefully the battery controller provides both volts and current in one response, it is quantitative power-flow arrow values. I'm OK with either kW or HP.
    THESE TEMPERATURES
    1. battery temperatures
    2. transaxle temperatures
    3. 12V temperature
    BATTERY MODULES
    1. highest voltage and module ID
    2. lowest voltage and module ID
    The power ones are hard since there is no guarantee of getting both snapshot from the controller(s). The temperatures support health and status. The battery modules are health and status.

    GOOD LUCK!
    Bob Wilson
     
  20. Linear Logic

    Linear Logic Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    14
    38
    0
    Location:
    Mesa
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    N/A
    Good list. Here's a start on it:

    Transaxle Oil Temperature (Degrees Fahrenheit)
    TXD: 07D2221004
    RXF: C46200000000
    RXD: 4008
    MTH: 00090005FFD8
    NAME: TOT
     
Loading...